Cross Section of the Heart

Built of marble, this sculpture is one of many in Jeddah that come under the theme of “hearts.” Mohammed Said Farsi was the mayor of Jeddah during the city’s major growth spurt in the 1970s and 1980s. After Farsi underwent heart surgery, he commissioned several pieces that pertained to the heart theme. This sculpture, which was erected right next to the Red Sea, was a collaborative effort between Aref el-Rayess of Lebanon and an unknown Belgian doctor of medicine who was also an artist.

UPDATE: The mystery of the previously unknown Belgian artist has been solved, thanks to my blog! Please click HERE to read all about it!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Sculptures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cross Section of the Heart

  1. Chiara says:

    I really like this photo and the sculpture but I keep looking for anatomical landmarks and driving myself crazy LOL :)

  2. Dina says:

    Amazing story of the sculpture.
    And nice advice to Jennifer.

    Remembering your post about frankincense, I posted a similar picture today.

  3. Jennifer says:

    Hi Susie,
    Congrats on your informative website. I’m an American that will be accompanying my husband to KSA next week.
    I have been researching rules of etiquette, wardrobe, etc and have found some conflicting answers. I hope that you can help me out.

    We will be staying in Jeddah at a “western” hotel. He will be working during the day on his projects and I will be on my own. I understand that I cannot go anywhere with out him– correct? I cannot get a tan at the pool, workout in the hotel gym, cannot take photographs. Is this all correct?

    I understand that I must wear an abaya (will purchase one here tomorrow) but do I have to totally cover my hair and neck? I was told that a big colorful scarf would do just as long as my head has a scarf on it.

    If I go to the beach I keep my abaya on– correct?

    Pls get back to me as this is creating quite the anxitity– I just would love to learn the real rules.
    Pls also include any other words of wisdom.

    Thank you!
    J

    • I’m emailing you privately with a more detailed answer, but basically here are some quick answers to your questions:
      You can go out without your husband, but it may not be advisable to do so. Some hotels offer separate gym facilities and pools for women. It is perfectly legal to take photos in Saudi Arabia, however do exercise discretion when people are around, especially women. As long as you are modestly dressed in loose fitting clothing that covers you from your neck to your wrists and ankles, it may not be necessary for you to purchase an abaya if you are just a temporary visitor. Abayas are available everywhere and you can pick one up quite cheaply if you want. You do not have to cover your hair in Jeddah, however ALWAYS have a scarf handy, just in case. There are some private beaches that cater only to foreigners and women may wear swimsuits there. Relax, have fun, and prepare to be amazed!

  4. EG Wow says:

    Wonderful sculpture! I’m impressed.

    All the best in 2010!

  5. Lori Skoog says:

    These pieces of sculpture are fantastic! I have been a strong advocate for public art in our community and have done a lot of fund raising so we could commission artists. What a setting.

Leave a Reply

