Skywatch: Dust Storm


This time of year the dust storms in Jeddah can be awful. On a normal day you would be able to see a mountain range in the distance. Jeddah has been plagued by high winds and dust storms for about two weeks now. If you look closely, you can see a flock of birds just above the buildings on the right and a single bird at the very left.
This is my first Skywatch post in over a year! To visit MORE friendly skies around the world, fly on over to SKYWATCH where you’ll find beautiful skies posted by bloggers all over the world.
Skywatch Friday

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Desert, Life, Nature, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Skywatch: Dust Storm

  1. That is a beautiful photograph…really very well done!

  2. Eclectic says:

    Hi Susie,

    I discovered your awesome blog while searching for information about Jeddah. My family and I will be moving there shortly from the States and was a bit concerned when you mentioned dust allergies. My son and I have pollen allergies here and was wondering if the dust will be an issue. I guess we’ll find out when we get there, but does Zyrtec do the trick?

    PS. I started my own blog and hopefully will have many stories/pictures as we embark on our adventure.

  3. Very good photo.

    Regards and best wishes

  4. ladyfi says:

    Welcome back Susie! I’ve been thinking of you and really hoping that your husband is now fully recovered.

    Great capture – but I bet you were glad to be inside during the storm.

  5. Yogi says:

    Welcome back!! Great photo to start back. The scene is just exotic to me.

    My father grew up in South Dakota in the 1930′s. He tells stories about the dust storms common during that era.

  6. Joyce M says:

    Oh my goodness, I really like your header photograph! It is what I call thinking outside the box. I am impressed with your imagination.
    Joyce M

  7. Judy says:

    I noticed the birds right off, but then I was looking at the streets, which seem so clean (or so far away)! I would not want to be out in all that dust…

  8. ewok1993 says:

    welcome back. i’ve been visiting your big adventure while you shut this site down, but didn’t leave any comments.

  9. Good to see you back, Susie!! The sandstorm reminds me of the years I lived in west Texas when I was a teenager! Our sandstorms were certainly not as bad as yours, but they were bad enough! Great capture for the day. Hope you’re doing well! Have a lovely weekend!

    Sylvia

  10. Lesley says:

    You picked an interesting sky to post on your return to SkyWatchFriday!

Leave a Reply

