SkyWatch: Yellow Mosque


I’ve never seen a mosque such a bright color as this one! This is a brand new mosque near downtown Jeddah. I’m guessing that it was built by a businessman who also built the matching colored apartment building behind and to the left of the mosque. It’s likely that he and his family will live in the new apartment building and the man will be able to easily attend prayers there. Many businessmen pay for new mosques to be built around the country as a way of giving back to the community.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Culture, Life, Odd or Unusual, Photo, Religion, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SkyWatch: Yellow Mosque

  1. Abu Hanif says:

    you can remind this businessman that according to the Hadith is not allowed to have Masjid in yellow color http://www.sunnipath.com/library/Hadith/H0002P0011.aspx

    • Abu Hanif – It is certainly not my place to remind anyone of anything such as what you suggest. First of all, it is just not my style to act this way. Secondly, if I were to remind people of such things, it would consume my entire day every day, as there are many many things in Islam that Muslims seem to overlook or forget. Certainly painting a mosque a yellow color is one of the least important aspects of the religion compared to others… BTW, I read at least half of the link you sent me. It was very boring and repetitive, talking about men who spit on mosque walls. I felt it was a waste of my time.

  2. Yogi says:

    It’s all yellow, sharp angles, and square windows that somehow works.

  3. Jerry M says:

    I am not a fan of yellow for buidings but it might work if some other strong colors were added to the mix.

  4. geogypsy2u says:

    That’s so bright it hurts the eyes. I’d rather be on the inside, if it’s not that color.

Leave a Reply

