Modern Office Building

Downtown Jeddah is comparable to the thriving city business centers of many major cities around the world.  This concrete and glass structure has a very interesting modern architectural design, with the large archway in the center and the way several floors just cut off in mid-air, accentuated by the lighting.  Like many major cities, the traffic in downtown Jeddah is horrendous, but the city is vibrant with businesses booming and shoppers out for bargains.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Shopping and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Modern Office Building

  1. Hi Hilda!
    Yes, the photo is a little hard to figure out because of the shape of the building and the way it is lit up. Thanks for your comment!

  2. Hilda says:

    Took me a few moments to orient myself with this photo, even after reading what you wrote! Very modern and interesting, but I think I love the shoreline view you posted yesterday much, much better. I guess I really just have a thing for native/ethnic patterns of all countries, not just those of the Philippines. 🙂

  3. Hi Kim! Thanks for commenting. BTW, I love your area of the world. I just got back from spending a couple of weeks in Gig Harbor. I really prefer the climate up there!

    Hi Ab! The traffic is horrendous in Jeddah, almost every where you go!

  4. Ab says:

    How’s the traffic in non-downtown Jeddah?

  5. Kim says:

    Wow, that will make you look twice. Very unusual architecture, and exciting. I wish you well in carving out a bit more space and time to make shots of what you are seeing in Jeddah. What an exercise in cultural sensitivity.
    -Kim
    Seattle Daily Photo

  6. Hi JM!
    It’s difficult here in Jeddah for a woman to walk around with a camera snapping pictures. Because of the culture here, my husband is always hurrying me along, or else we are zooming by in the car. As a result, I never seem to have the time to really plan my shots. So I just take what I can get. Privacy is highly regarded, and women here are especially paranoid that I may get a photo of them, even though they are all unrecognizable in their black abayas and veils.

  7. JM says:

    That looks quite interesting! I believe the whole building can be very eye-catching!

Leave a Reply

