Ooops!

I honestly didn’t notice the sign as we zoomed by in the car.  I just saw all these policemen congregated and snapped the photo.  I learned later that this was the place where the public beheadings take place.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Tradition and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ooops!

  1. For DC Confidential –
    I apologise if the comments might seem a bit off color or offensive. We are not trying to be disrespectful or insensitive. I think that we who have been transplanted here have to maintain our sense of humor, even in the face of uncomfortable situations. If we didn’t, I don’t think many of us would be able to survive in this culture.

  2. There’s something a little surreal about casual blog comments regarding a place where criminals have their heads cut off. Of course, I guess it would be no different if I took a tour of a prison and took a picture of a lethal injection chamber. Still… Yikes!

  3. Hi Umm Ibrahim!
    Wow – I had heard that! Do you have any photos? But I guess at the end of the day, a chopping block is a chopping block!

  4. Umm Ibrahim says:

    Oooh… the beheadings place in Riyadh is so much nicer! 😆

  5. Hi Ab and PJ –
    I wasn’t sure if I should post it, but I think it’s ok since it really doesn’t show anything questionable. Thanks for your comments!

  6. PJ says:

    That’s a very typical daily blogger quandry I think. I did an oops myself the other day. I was photographing an ofice building and a very concerned man drove up to me and told me in no uncertain terms that I should stop what I was doing before someone from the FBI or IRS caught me. I was stunned. I guess it’s one of those things you just have to learn as you go along. Doing a daily blog can teach you a lot about how the world works.

  7. Ab says:

    Be safe Susie of Arabia! You don’t want your actions to land you there as a convict 😮

Leave a Reply

