Night Traffic

Jeddah at night is always hopping.  Because of the severe daytime heat and businesses closing a good part of the day for prayers, a lot of business is conducted at night, with shops and malls often open until well past midnight.   So traffic in the evening is usually much busier than at various times during the day.  This is also the time when you see more women out and about as well, with their husbands of course and often with the kids in tow.  Wearing black abayas plus head and neck coverings out in the heat of the day is abolutely brutal.  This photo was taken at about 11pm.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Tradition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Night Traffic

  1. Hi Jaffer! Thanks for stopping by. I am dreaming of living in a cooler place – Canada sounds wonderful right about now!!!

  2. Jaffer says:

    Hi Suse !
    I stumbled on your blog from AbuDhabi/UAE Daily Photo and I must say it’s interesting to see Jeddah from your perspective. Great Pictures.

    I grew up in Jeddah (Rehab-Sharae’ Arbaeen) and lived there for 17 years and then I moved to Canada in 2001.
    My Parents still live in Jeddah and are about to retire. They are very tired and my Dad is counting down the days to the final move to Canada.

    Cheers !

  3. Hi Ab – You used to be able to click on the photo and get a larger image, but I don’t know why it’s not doing it any more. I will try to put in some larger photos for you, but when I was first doing my blog, some people asked for smaller ones because it took so long for the larger ones to download – especially if they are on dial-up.

  4. Ab says:

    I wish there’d be bigger photos *sigh* 😛

Leave a Reply

