Let’s Take the Train!

dscf5717
I think this is just another piece of art sculpture – either that or a train engine just drove through a building in downtown Jeddah! The city of Jeddah is one enormous open air art museum, with literally hundreds of sculptures adorning the cityscape. Many of the sculptures line the Corniche, which is a boardwalk along the Red Sea Coast.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Buildings, Landmarks, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Let’s Take the Train!

  1. Hi Mandy! I know! In fact, so many of the photos I take here would be so much better if there wasn’t some type of advertising or such blocking part of it. I don’t know what else to do!

  2. mandy says:

    That is an amazing sight – shame about the pepsi-kiosk in front of it.

  3. Hi Gerald!
    Thanks so much for including me on your site. I will set up a link to yours as well. You’ve got an amazing list of photo blogs there!

    Hi John! Thank you for your nice comment!

    Hi Babooshka! Yes, I was caught off guard seeing the train myself, even though I am always on the lookout for more sculptures around this city. Thanks for commenting.

  4. Hi Hilda!
    Although there are times when we have walked along the Corniche or through the souks and I have been able to take photos, too many times we are whizzing by in the car and I don’t get the type of photos that I would like to. So a lot of time, I just have to settle for what I am able to capture without much planning. You do not see people walking around here with cameras at all.

  5. babooshka says:

    INot something I would have expected in downtown Jedaah, but that’s what I like about the daily photos, it’s by real people shwoing you the real side of places.

  6. John says:

    Now that is a piece of street art, great image.

  7. Gerald says:

    Your blog has been included in our guide Around The World.

    The guide is both a record of old blogs and a listing of new blogs. Although originally arising from the CDPB lists this is an independent publication. Inclusion here does not imply that a blog qualifies for nor is officially a CDPB. Our criteria are that photographs mainly from a specific geographical location (not necessarily a “city” but usually more specific than a whole country or region) are posted at dated intervals (not necessarily daily) and archives are readily searchable by date.

    Please keep us informed of any changes to your details.

  8. Hilda says:

    That is a surprising thing to see indeed!

    It must be wonderful and interesting to walk through Jeddah with all those sculptures around!

Leave a Reply

