Festive Light

This is not typically Saudi, but my sister-in-law puts this colorful lamp out as a decoration during Ramadan.  She told me she bought it in Egypt and that decorations like this are more popular there.  I thought it was pretty.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Festive Light

  1. Hi to Everyone!
    Thanks so much for all your comments – I’m glad you liked the picture. This lamp is really much more beautiful in person – the photo doesn’t do it justice.

  2. Hope says:

    I have just discovered your blog and am glad I did. Your photos and posts are so very interesting. The colors in this lamp and the photo are just beautiful!

  3. babooshka says:

    It is beautiful nonetheless.

  4. I agree. This is a very pretty light.

  5. Marahm says:

    Yes, it is pretty. It reminds me of all the colored lights that used to be so popular (and maybe still are) to decorate retail businesses at night. When I first came to the Kingdom, I was amused by all the “Christmas tree” lights I saw everywhere.

    Maybe in hot countries, where community life flourishes after dark, people are more interested in colored lights.

Leave a Reply

