Old Jeddah…and the Meat Goes on…

 

I was stunned when I was walking through Old Jeddah’s Bab Makkah market recently and spotted a man in a red shirt transporting a huge leg of fresh meat by carrying it on his back through the marketplace!  I was able to get a more detailed shot in the photo below, showing the man holding the bulky piece of meat with his bare hand, hanging it off the back of his head, neck and shirt.   There is clearly no plastic wrap or paper at all visible between his hand, his hair, or his shirt and the meat.   The time was about 11am and the day was very hot already.   I can only imagine what he must smell like at the end of his work day!

 

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Food, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Shopping, Tradition and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Old Jeddah…and the Meat Goes on…

  1. Hi UmZacharia! The sight just took me by surprise because I had never seen anything like it before. I see it hanging in the shops all the time, but I didn’t realize it might have gotten there in this fashion!!!

  2. Umzacharia says:

    Salams Susie

    Yea, its like that in Egypt as well. In outdoor suqs where you could be buying underware, shaylas, clothes, kitchen ware etc. Hey its like Meijer here………..one stop shopping!!!! (eeewwww). I almost got smacked in the head by a piece of lahma that was hanging bc i was more focused on where i was walking………..another hazard in Egypt. Their stomachs must be like iron to be able to eat meat “exposed” to the elements like that.

  3. Hi Jill, Sharon, and Aafke – Thanks for commenting. Sorry to gross you all out, but I just couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw this, so I thought I must post it!

  4. Aafke says:

    eeeeehk, yuk!!!!

  5. Oh my…that is amazing and to my mind a bit unsanitary. I think I’ll have a salad for lunch today.

  6. jill says:

    Well, we do prefer our meat cut into portion-size in nice sealed packages. This looks quite unappetizing. Think I’d head to the veggies.

  7. Hi DanStar – I know!!! It really grossed me out.

  8. DanStar says:

    Not quite what I see in the local Kroger!

Leave a Reply

