City Life

This huge open mall area in an older section of downtown Jeddah is completely tiled.  Businesses and shops surround it.   As you can see, most of the men wear traditional clothing, and the only woman visible is wearing the black abaya and veil.  Veils are not required but the majority of women here wear them.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Shopping, Tradition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to City Life

  1. Hi Yasir!
    I’m glad you are enjoying seeing my photos of Jeddah – thanks for letting me know!

  2. Yasir Imran says:

    Very nice to see your blog and pictures, I am a Jeddah resident but belong to Pakistan.

    Happy to see these pictures. Best regards. 🙂

  3. Hi Ilse – I believe that of all the cities in this country, Jeddah – because it is the main gateway to Mecca – is more used to having foreigners in its midst. I don’t teach English, but I have done some English tutoring here – it is very much in demand. I am currently trying to find a suitable Arabic class for me to learn the language. I’ll have to try to get my hands on “Madly Truly Deeply” – I’ve never seen it – thanks for the recommendation. As far as I know, they don’t rent movies here, you have to buy them, but you can buy pirated copies for really cheap here – you can even buy movies that have just come out in the movie theaters and aren’t on DVD yet!

    Hi 2Post – Yes, you’re right – I should have mentioned that this are is called Al Balad. That Kenava looks de-lish! Next time I’m down there, I’ll see if we can go to Al Nabelse. Thanks!

  4. 2post says:

    i believe people in Jeddah call this area ” Al Balad” ..Nice place.. I recommend you go to “Al mahmal mall” and go to the 4th floor .. where you can find “Al Nabelse” they make the best KENAVA…

    Kenava = http://upsarab.com/uploads/a9a7235e54.jpg

    I like your blog 🙂

  5. Ilse says:

    Well everything looks spanking brand new! So clean. I have known a few people who lived in Jeddah. I heard it is the place for foreigners in Saudi Arabia? Do you teach English? Are you in a school to learn Arabic? Or is there a tutor who comes to the house. I lived in Europe for many years. I had to learn a few languages in my time. It’s rough. People are nice for awhile & speak in English. But when they finish their English vocabulary, they end the conversation. I found that no matter how badly I spoke their language, they kept on going trying to understand & communicate because they had all the vocabulary at hand & could try on endless variations. Hey. One movie you don’t have on you list but would probably like (given your selection) is “Madly, Truly, Deeply” with Alan Rickman–an English, romantic comedy. Do you guys have NETFLIX (or something similar) in the Kingdom?

Leave a Reply

