Woven Camel

Part of a larger wall hanging, this woven piece of art hangs in a friend’s home here in Jeddah.  Some Muslims would not hang something like this in their homes since it is an animal and the Quran does not approve of displaying creatures with eyes, humans included.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Woven Camel

  1. abc says:

    Hi
    It is not in Quran but it is in Hadith. You can check by simply googling it.
    About the sikhs, it is not part of Islam. We are talking about islam here.

  2. jill says:

    It’s a lovely woven piece and looks very typical of your area.

  3. 2post says:

    As you said some Muslims.
    there are conflict opinions among Shikhs (who give fatwa) about this topic .. some forbids any kind of picturing for any creatures .. some forbids certain kinds of picturing ..

    nice picture btw 🙂

  4. Hi Ab and Hi Elaine –
    I have not read it myself in the Quran; it is what I have been told by several people here. In fact, one of the first things I was told by my mother-in-law when I arrived was to put away my beloved photos of my family (which I have ALWAYS displayed) and keep them hidden in a drawer – they were not to be out on display. My husband has always told me that wearing a t-shirt with an animal or person on it is forbidden – although one can find many of these items for sale here. I find it one of those confusing gray areas. There are huge photos of the King and other high ranking government officals all over the place. I believe it does have to do with idolotry and I’m sorry I can’t give you something more specific – it’s just what I have been told.

  5. Elaine says:

    I’ve often wondered about that. It seems that portraits of political figures are displayed in public sometimes, but that such displays are closer to idolatry than decorations with camels on them, in the home.

  6. Ab says:

    Where in the Quran does it say that? I was under the impression that hadith forbade that.

Leave a Reply

