No, You Can’t Have That!

Just what every normal super-hero-loving boy wants – a Batman …. ASHTRAY????  The fact that smoking isn’t good for your health hasn’t really deterred many of the men here in Saudi Arabia from smoking.  And it is allowed everywhere, much to my dismay.   During Ramadan, Muslims fast from sunrise to sunset, abstaining from eating, drinking, smoking and sex during the daylight hours.  I’ve heard that what men say the hardest thing to give up during Ramadan is the smoking.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Shopping and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to No, You Can’t Have That!

  1. Hi Everybody and thanks for commenting.

    To Elaine and Aafke – My son Adam is 15 and really turned off by smoking. We have discussed the issue of smoking, and I doubt that he would ever do it. My husband used to smoke, but mostly an aromatic pipe. I am happy to report that when Adam was born, my hubby quit smoking and hasn’t touched it since.

    To Sally – Some women here do smoke cigarettes, but I don’t think too many do. One of my sis-in-laws will sneak a smoke occasionally. I’ve been at functions where a few of the women smoked cigarettes and also hookahs. I think more women are more inclined to try puffing on a hookah once in a while, but I don’t think it’s something they do daily, like the men here with their cigarettes.

    To Sharon – Thanks – I’ll check it out!

  2. Aafke says:

    smoking is disgusting and stupid!
    I hate smoking.
    Batma: yes!
    Ashtray: NO
    Please tell me A doesn’t smoke? I’d be really dissappointed!

  3. Marahm says:

    Elaine’s dire warning is only partially correct. Many ex-smokers grow to hate the smell or sight of cigarettes, and would be repulsed at the very thought of taking up the practice again.

  4. Susie, yesterday I was honored with the BFF award and today I’m passing the same award on to you and four others. You can see it on my site.

  5. Sally says:

    Do women smoke at all? In the home?

    It’s Sculpture By The Sea time in Sydney, and I’m taking my visitors on the coastal walk. Today we’re in Wonderland. Sydney Daily Photo

  6. Elaine says:

    Nicotine is far more addictive than any of the other things. I hope you son never starts, because quitting will mean having to keep quitting every hour of every day for the rest of his life.

  7. Marahm says:

    I’ve heard the same remark. Smoking is SO disgusting!

Leave a Reply

