Jeddah Souk

This is an older souk in downtown Jeddah, in stark contrast to the ultra modern enormous glass, steel and marble shopping malls that abound in the city.  You can find almost anything you might need here, ranging from clothing for men, women, and children, to perfume, luggage, watches, shoes, soaps, incense, gold jewelry and prayer rugs.   The shopkeepers aim to please and there are plenty of bargains to be had.  I prefer going to the souks like this in the cooler months because many of the shops don’t have air conditioning and it can get pretty hot and smelly.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Shopping, Tradition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jeddah Souk

  1. Hi Elaine, Marahm & David – I’m not a haggler either, but boy, my husband sure is. And I guess it’s even expected here. And Marahm, there are still souks that are WAY older than this one. I guess I’m just comparing to all the new glitzy malls everywhere!

  2. david smith says:

    just don’t enjoy haggling i tried

  3. Marahm says:

    This is an older souq? Goodness, I’m getting old myself, because my memories of such a souq were formed when that souq was new!

    And yes, there is a gene for haggling, and I missed out on it, too, though my father had a double dose.

  4. Elaine says:

    I don’t know why it is, but I just don’t enjoy haggling. There must be a gene for that, and I missed out on it. But it looks like a great place to explore!

Leave a Reply

