Skywatch: Mosque Minarets

Mosque Minarets

Mosque Minarets

There are mosques here in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, it seems ever block or two, although that may be exaggerating a little bit, but not much!  From our home, we can hear the calls to prayer five times a day from at least a half a dozen mosques, all within walking distance.  From the rooftop of our building, I can see dozens of mosques in every direction.  The mosques are clearly visible by their minarets, which are typically lit up with green lights or green tinted windows, although some boast white lights or possibly another color.  You can see the loud speakers on the minarets that blare the calls to prayer for all to hear. 

To fly MORE friendly skies, visit SKYWATCH.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Tradition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Skywatch: Mosque Minarets

  1. Fatema Saber says:

    I love this pic!! I used to live right behind this mosque and al raya supermarket. 🙂 so homesick!!

  2. Pingback: SkyWatch: Al-Anani Mosque at Dusk « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  3. rhoen says:

    this is a great share to SWF! thanks for sharing!

  4. Suzanne says:

    These are great shots. I hope one day I will see sights as amazing as this! Have a great weekend.

  5. Susan says:

    Donald, from what I understand, and the areas I’ve been told of, the call to prayer is not always in unison thereby providing a harmonious sound. Rather, each does their own thing regardless of close proximity.

    The suggestion was that perhaps the mosques quite close to one another could “take turns” calling the adhan – there are five prayers … sounds like a good idea and very community building.

  6. Lovely shot! You must have an interesting life. Thanks for sharing!

  7. 2sweetnsaxy says:

    How very interesting it must be to live there. Thank you for sharing what I might never get to see otherwise. This reminded me of how often I used to hear church bells chime… I don’t hear that any more. 😦

  8. Not to insult anyone’s religion, and you know, I’ve got nothing against organized religion, but I’m pretty sure I’d get pretty darned tired of a loud speaker calling me to prayer several times a day…
    (sorry, that’s just the way I feel about it)

  9. PJ says:

    Beautiful SWF image, Susie. Are the skies mostly cloudless or do you get differing clouds, etc.?
    I know that sounds ignorant but someone in the American SW said they’re bored to tears by nothing but blue sky.

  10. syel says:

    there are also mosques here but not as big as those! thanks for dropping by my blog. i don’t use any lens for that moon shot, it’s just my p&s cam! 🙂 Cheers!

  11. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: I do love the shape of the tower going into the sky, nice SWF.

  12. Hi Krystal! Yes, mosques are conveniently located in every neighborhood here, so there’s no excuse for the men not going!

    Hi Marahm! I know how much you miss it. I hope you are doing well. I would think you are still on a high from Obama’s sparkling win!!! Me too!

  13. Marahm says:

    The mosques, minarets, calls to prayer- I miss it all very much. Five calls to prayer from the neighborhood mosques makes for a unique and compelling harmony.

  14. Krystal says:

    Wow!One or two mosques every block or two.It sounds like my city of residence here in South Carolina,except there are churches of different nominations. And,yet I travel out of town to go to a spirit filled church.Thank GOD that I don’t have to travel to a different state to find a spirit filled church.

    I’m Charismatic,that’s what I have chosen of my own free will.

Leave a Reply

