Villa Gates

Very typical gates adorn the walls of this villa.  They are opaque for privacy.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Villa Gates

  1. Krystal says:

    I assume from after hearing that, that Saudi women like wearing the veil and covering themselves up, so men will not be ogling them.Where as a lot of American women button down their shirts and wear hiked up mini skirts with super high heels to have men ogle them.

    I’m surprised that there are not dress codes in American workplaces or maybe I am unaware of it.

    Do you know if love affairs go on in the work places in Saudi Arabia?It wreaks havocs with the companies when the relationships brake up,I’m sure.I have had to deal with relationships going sour in my office and then the cold atmosphere, and that was just with women.

  2. Hi Susan – Me too – it’s one of my favorite colors.

    Hi Tina – Thanks so much – what a nice compliment!

    Hi Elaine – Yes, being here does at times remind me of the American southwest.

    Hi Marahm – I find myself taking photos of so many of the gates here (I have tons more photos of them!). I’m always curious as to what’s behind them. I have this thing for doors/doorways/and gates!

    Hi JM – Thanks! I appreciate your comment!

    Hi Krystal – The people in general here are very private. Most women, by choice, wear the veil when out in public. In private situations when a woman is not properly covered, she will not allow her photo to be taken by someone outside her immediate family since she doesn’t have control over who would be allowed to see the photo (like a man outside her family). I even have a sister-in-law who won’t take her picture with me or allow me to photograph her. Another privacy issue here is street addresses – there are none. Buildings do not have numbers on them for identification purposes. It’s often very difficult to find your way around.
    Most people here either live in single family walled villas, such as the one in the photo, or in multi-story apartment buildings. Being an open, friendly American, the privacy thing has been a hard thing for me to get accustomed to.

  3. Krystal says:

    Privacy is what I treasure,Saudi women do too, it appears.Or is it more that the men want to look out for them and protect them?How do you feel about it?Does everybody live in villas such as this one?I know I am curious.This is such a secret society, it intrigues me.

    These are beautiful structures, their design is so clean and crisp.I like the windows.The colors are beautiful.I think Prince Charles would like the architectural style of the villa.These homes remind me sort of Miami except for the privacy factor and closed gates.That resembles more El Paso.,there privacy is all the rage.

    As much as I like privacy I love the front porch approach of the south.

  4. JM says:

    Great colours! The gates are beautiful!

  5. Marahm says:

    Villa gates always fascinated me! They were all unique, dramatic, and beautiful, at least in the more prosperous neighborhoods.

    Ordinary neighborhood villas had ordinary gates, and apartment buildings (where I lived!) had no gates at all.

  6. Elaine says:

    They have some walls and gates a little bit like this in Santa Fe, New Mexico, and with similar colors around.

  7. tina says:

    AA Susie,

    You have the greatest pics!

  8. Susan says:

    I like that robin’s egg blue / turquoise … pretty.

Leave a Reply

