Man on Cell Phone, Driving

A man in the traditional native dress of a white thobe and red and white checked ghuttra talks on his mobile phone as he drives.  I still find it fascinating to see sights like this, blending the old traditional garb he is wearing with modern technology.  Only men are allowed to drive here in Saudi Arabia.  From my observations, there don’t seem to many traffic laws at all or any type of traffic enforcement.  One could describe traffic here as a free for all or organized chaos – and somehow it works!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Tradition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Man on Cell Phone, Driving

  1. Krystal says:

    Sorry,I did not clean work places.Do the Saudi women have maids,mostly?

    And women worked in factories too in Iceland.I worked in one myself when I was single,one has to be strong to work in one.Can Saudi women work in factories?

    And can the women drive tractors in the country?I was not allowed,grandpa was so protective of me when I worked at his farm in the summers.

  2. Krystal says:

    Do you have any ideas why women are not allowed to work?And you mean to tell me there is a law against women working in sales positions?And what could be the reason for that?

    When I grew up in Iceland women where wives and mothers,that stayed home and took care of their husbands and children,except that they cleaned work places after closing hours.I chose to dot that too.Women could also study to become nurses,teachers and work in offices,etc.

  3. Hi Krystal – I have felt very warmly welcomed here by everyone. The Saudis are very gracious, thoughtful and kind, and very good hosts.

    Hi BW – I so glad you found my blog and have enjoyed looking through it. Women can only swim in public if they are fully covered, with only their face and hands allowed to be uncovered.
    There are plenty of foreign female workers here – they mostly are employed in the medical field, or in education, or they work for families privately as maids. Saudi women are not allowed to work side by side with men, except in the medical field. There may be a few exceptions to this, but very few exceptions. No women in Saudi Arabia are employed in sales jobs, whether they are Saudi or foreign, because it is not allowed in this country.
    Thanks for your nice comments and questions!

    Hi Ab – There are many jobs here that are believed to be beneath the Saudis – even Saudi teenage boys would never start out working at McDonalds, for example, or bagging groceries, as many teens do in the states for their first jobs. To say that Saudi women would never accept a lowly job like sales, I think, may be a little unfair, since most Saudi women are either not allowed to work at all, or choose not to work, and those who do work are mostly in medicine or education. If they would open up sales positions to women, I think there would be no problem filling the jobs, whether it be Saudis or foreigners.

  4. Pingback: TravisCotton.com » Blog Archive » Man on bCell Phone/b, Driving « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  5. Ab says:

    “And I wondered why they don’t have saleswomen at the clothing shops, then they could have dressing rooms and try on clothes and away from the eyes of men at all times. Is there a rule against that?”

    Because Arab women would never accept a “lowly” job like that, and there are not enough legal Filipinas to work in retail.

  6. BW says:

    I loved going thru all your photos, it’s late, I should be in bed, but I wanted to finish viewing them. You did a great job showing jeddah. I have more of a feel for the town now.
    Ahhhhh the dates! I have always loved dates. Years ago I found medjool dates and they are just about the best I ever tasted. they weren’t easy to get around here- in the USA- until some mediterranian stores opened up and now they are very easy to get.
    the woman fully covered were they not allowed to swim at all? or only if they swam fully covered alongside the men.
    And I wondered why they don’t have saleswomen at the clothing shops, then they could have dressing rooms and try on clothes and away from the eyes of men at all times. Is there a rule against that?
    Keep up the good work with the pictures, it’s the first time I saw first hand pictures of saudi arabia and I’m enjoying it. thanks

  7. Krystal says:

    That is one brave man,if he can multitask like that without even rules and regulations of the road in place, I can’t help but regard him with the up most respect.

    I will not talk on the cell phone when I walk,let alone drive,because I have to direct all my attention on one thing ,and one thing alone,at a time.

    I saw some of the organized chaos in Rome,I had to thread myself somehow between the cars when crossing the street there,I was glad to go back to Germany , I lived there at the time,where there where rules and regulations and they were expected to be followed, no ifs and buts about it.I like Germans,I am long over the dislike of them because of Hitler and what he did.

    Do Saudi Arabian people welcome strangers well?It takes a long time to get to know Germans,but once they do accept you,one is like a part of their family.I like that.That is the average German that I’m talking about,not just one or two individuals.

Leave a Reply

