Skywatch: Jeddah Sculpture

 

Stained Glass Sculpture in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

Stained Glass Sculpture in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

My new hometown of Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, is home to the world’s largest open air art museum.  There are hundreds of sculptures which adorn the entire city.   I have always loved stained glass, so this one is one of my favorites.  To give you an idea of the height of this structure, my 5’10” son can stand inside the open triangular shape at the base, and he is barely taller than the bottom two panels.   If you are interested in seeing more photos like this and learning more about the beautiful, varied, and amazing sculptures of Jeddah, please click to a post I wrote about this subject on my other blog, Susie’s Big Adventure.

To fly MORE friendly skies, visit SKYWATCH.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Skywatch: Jeddah Sculpture

  1. saeid says:

    hi کیفکون انا سعید مرسی اوی

  2. dina little says:

    It’s really cool, like something out of Salvidor Dali in 3D!

  3. Moazam says:

    Hi, Im new to this blog but already started liking it.

    It’s very simple, clean and informative too.
    By profession I am a marketeer but I love photography, is there any chance I can share with you all my photo’s which I have taken in Jeddah during my last one year?

    Thanks.

  4. I just wanted to thank everyone who stopped by and commented. Thanks so much!

  5. Tabib says:

    Wow!, majestic structure!
    I did found this during my short visit in 2003 (only that big bicycle!)

  6. Grammy says:

    Your photos are wonderful!
    Have a wonderful weekend!.

  7. Andrew says:

    I love this! almost made me dizzy. 🙂

  8. Wow. That looks fantastic.

  9. babooshka says:

    Fascinating fact about the open air museum and the image is gorgeous

  10. Snapper says:

    Susie, I have enjoyed your blog very much. Your insights are most helpful in understanding a culture about which I know very little. Cheers from BC!

  11. Wow! Very cool photo for Skywatch.

  12. Marahm says:

    I’d love to see this in person! Imagine the work of putting it together!

  13. Mary says:

    What a wonderful sculpture! Great photo.

  14. What an interesting work of art. Fantastic Skywatch.

  15. sbuser says:

    I think I would get vertigo from standing under that statue. Great shot.

  16. Dirkjogt says:

    Great sculpture, very special!

  17. Mo says:

    Wow thats huge

  18. Nice pic of beautiful sculpture and sky:)

  19. What an interesting work…

  20. Suzanne M says:

    Oh I love the photo the blue sky is beautiful against the stained glass.

  21. Suzanne says:

    REally cool picture. I have a fondness for stained glass, so I really liked this. Have a great weekend.

  22. islamicarticles says:

    I love stained glass too. My dream is to put stained glass windows in my own home one day insha’Allah

Leave a Reply

