A Rare Sight

A rare sight in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
A rare sight in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

The first whole year I spent in Jeddah, I was beginning to think it never ever rained here.   Imagine my surprise when I woke up one morning and looked out the window and saw this!  Because it rains so rarely, Jeddah is not equipped with proper drainage, so consequently, many streets flood and lower areas are filled with ponds or large puddles.   A week after the rain, there was still standing water in parts of the city. 

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Rare Sight

  1. Imtiaz says:

    Hi Susie… Appreciate your amazing pictures and the dare to them on busy streets of Jeddah. Well, am a resident of India but I had a short 6 day visit to Saudi (On a umrah). Everytime I see a Jeddah pic,, I dream of those 6 days I spent in jeddah and madinah. and prey again and again to visit that holy place. You ‘ve got an amazing luck Susie..

    Name: Imtiaz Uddin Mohammed
    Working for: Bank of America as Sr. systems engineer.

    Hope to talk to you on yahoo chat… my ID:
    sweet_guy4u100@yahoo.com

    Allah hafiz

  2. Hi Marahm – Thanks – I sure wish it would rain more often here! That is one thing that I really miss.

    Hi Sharon – A little like Arizona, but Arizona gets a LOT more rain than we’ve gotten since I’ve lived here. I do remember the “Beat the Peak” programs during the summers in Arizona, but those monsoons that come around July were fabulous – the lightening storms, ah!!

    Hi Abid – And it did cool off the weather too – much to my delight.

  3. Abid says:

    That’s so cool!

  4. Much like Arizona, huh? We’ve gotten a little better with drainage but, there are still places where water will stand for quite a while.

  5. Marahm says:

    A rare sight indeed, and beautiful!

Leave a Reply

