My World: Drive Up ATM

Traditionally dressed man uses drive up ATM.
Traditionally dressed man uses drive up ATM.

Many gas stations here in Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, have convenient drive up ATMs on their property.   This traditionally dressed taxi cab driver apparently didn’t get close enough to the machine with his car, so he stepped out to access the ATM while his young daughter looked on.  

Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World! 

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Tradition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My World: Drive Up ATM

  1. A piece of life. I love it!

  2. torsdag says:

    Good to have this wonderful windows to the world, I the way you are reporting from your new word.
    Hallo from Germany
    Hartmut

  3. Erin says:

    great shot…just love your blog, can’t say it enough. it is a MUST read for me.
    have a good week…

  4. Fishing Guy says:

    Susan: What an interesting view into your world. That is interesting garb for the taxi driver.

  5. lynn says:

    Thanks for replying, I thought it might be problematic. I have looked at your other blog and will certainly return. The only thing I don’t like is the filling in the form every time before a comment! I find this format really annoying lol – I am simply impatient that’s all! Great blog! Very, very interesting to read about and see Saudi Arabia.

  6. Lily Yuhas says:

    Good day,

    I am Lily Yuhas, an intern working with John Wilpers, the Director of Global Blog Development at GlobalPost.com, a new company dedicated to creating the very best international news reporting in the world.

    We are set to launch in January of 2009 with more than 70 correspondents and 350 bloggers in 53 countries, including Saudi Arabia. For more information, go to globalpost.com.

    My job is to find the world’s very best bloggers writing (in English) from or about each of those 53 countries, including Saudi Arabia.

    I have been reading your blog, and I am very impressed. Your pictures share a unique perspective on Saudi Arabia and are great to see every day.

    Mr. Wilpers and I would like to recommend you to the editorial board of Global News Enterprises for inclusion in our roster of the World’s Best Blogs.

    Why is that very good news for you?

    Every blogger wants maximum exposure for his or her blog, whether for the increased traffic and subsequent financial benefits, or for the expanded impact of their thoughts, or both. With our international network of newspapers, radio, television and Internet companies, your blog will be exposed to tens of thousands of people around the world.

    You will have a link on our Saudi Arabia page, and your current post will appear there linking back to your blog for comments and archives. There will also be headlines linking back to your blog for several of your most recent posts.

    You will also be promoted in several ways, including being in a promotion rotation on our home and region pages as well as having a personal profile page about you and your blog.

    What do you have to do?

    Virtually nothing, other than to keep posting daily and sending us a full Atom RSS feed of your current blog! We will also need a photo of you (or not, if you choose to be anonymous), as well as your own description of the mission of your blog (300-500 words).

    Also, I’d appreciate it if you can help us find other Saudi bloggers whom you think are the best in Saudi Arabia.

    If you have any questions or would like to discuss our project, you can reach me at: lily.yuhas@gmail.com or the Director of Global Blog Development, John Wilpers, at jwilpers@globalpost.com.

    I really like your blog and your clear passion for Saudi Arabia. I hope that you will be willing to become part of the most exciting international news project on the Internet today. I look forward to hearing from you.

    Sincerely,

    Lily Yuhas

  7. I love this photo. I love the way he is so intently working the ATM.

  8. abi says:

    o my,i am starting to be your fan susie.. ,hope u reply.. 🙂

  9. abi says:

    hi susie, i am amazed by your daily photos and journals. i am abi, 23 y/o nurse from the philippines, and i might be going to jeddah to work as a staff nurse at the new jeddah clinic hospital probably this month of dec or january. i am very much curious about jeddah and i am happy to see and learn cultures thru your site… keep it up! hope to chat with u soon.

  10. Aafke says:

    I love how his whole attitude and stance are exactely the same as everybody who stands at a cashmachine, only much more exotic outfit!
    I guess you were next?

  11. Elaine says:

    Well, I’ll bet the royals don’t drive cabs, so you’re safe with this one. It looks like “taxi” is as internationalized as “STOP”.

  12. Hi Lynn – Thanks for commenting … glad to hear you are enjoying my photo blog. You might also be interested in reading my personal blog about my experiences and thoughts since we moved here:
    http://susiesbigadventure.blogspot.com/

    As far as taking photos, I take my camera jsut about everywhere with me, but people here, especially women, are very paranoid about having their photos taken, even when they are in their abayas with veils on. Just today I was taking a photo at a mall of a sign and a veiled woman came up to me and told me in Arabic that I was causing problems. From what I have read recently, taking photos is allowed here. The only restricted subject matter would be government installations and royal family residences, I believe.

  13. lynn says:

    Hi there; your blog is very interesting to me! I have only landed at Jeddah once, not visited, it was a connecting flight and we (ladies) had to cover up. I have taught many students from Jeddah in England, the English language. All the men (no ladies) were extremely courteous and interesting. I enjoyed teaching them very much. They called me Best English Teacher Lynn. lol!

    Your camera: are you restricted at all as to what you might photograph?

Leave a Reply

