Arabian Architecture

dscf6046-1

This is part of Jeddah’s famous Al-Khalil Museum.  It is a fine example featuring many of the details of the old style Arabian architecture – the huge stones, the fortress style, the heavy carved wooden door, the large intricate wooden window coverings, minarets, and elaborate detailing everywhere.   I think it is stunning.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Arabian Architecture

  1. Ian says:

    Greetings from Bahrain!

    Your photos are very stunning and amazing! They really open my mind of how modern and vibrant Jeddah city is.

    Btw, I just found out your DP at London DP, I should thank Ham for that! I am going to add you link on my DP then. Thanks for sharing Jeddah with us and the world.

  2. Aafke says:

    Totally stunning! Are ther any buildings like that left in Jeddah?
    Did you get my mails?

  3. babooshka says:

    It is so good to see the architecture that is such an integral part of your world and how it differs to mine.

  4. Abid says:

    It is stunning!

    Eid Mubarak!

  5. Barbara says:

    Hi Susie,
    I am enjoying your photos and your stories.

  6. Marahm says:

    I love Arabic architecture such as this building. I love the modern designs, too.

Leave a Reply

