Outside Barbecue

dscf5298-1-copy
I drive by this street scene quite often and it always catches my eye. It is apparently an enormous built in barbecue grill right on the sidewalk outside a little restaurant. I guess I always notice it because of the smoke it spews out. You can see the arm of the guy tending the grill just to the left of the monstrocity. To the right, you can see an outside table full of men customers seated and enjoying their meal. I can’t recall ever seeing anything like this in the States – I would think that health and safety restrictions would prohibit such a thing. I apologize again for the poor image quality, but as usual I was zooming by in a speeding car in the evening. I’ve actually tried taking photos of this scene on several occasions, but this is the first one that wasn’t completely blurry!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Food, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Outside Barbecue

  1. Susan says:

    At the grocery nearby, in the summer, they will bar-b-que outside. It’s a rather eclectic neighborhood, lots of diversity … the chicken always was wonderful.

  2. Baruch says:

    Such a great traditional trade which is not seen in my world anymore

  3. Judy says:

    Very colorful signs on the buildings.

  4. I can almost smell the smoke. I’ve seen those barrel-style smokers here but, nothing like this.

  5. babooshka says:

    Under the circumstances of how you have so snath shots you do a marvellous job of shwoing us the world you live in. I think in the UK too this is an image you wouldn’t see due to health and safety.

  6. Gogolin says:

    I got the same opinion. This can’t be very healthy. Or what do yout think?

  7. Elaine says:

    I’ve seen big smoker type barbeques at the rodeo and in the parking lot of a bakery/food place, but I think they must use a cleaner burning fuel than this.

Leave a Reply

