The Verse Boat Sculpture

dscf9398-1-copy
This bronze sculpture weighs twenty tons and is called “The Verse Boat.” With the aid of a computer program, it was created by the Spanish artist and architect Julio LaFuente, who was responsible for many of the beautiful sculptures that grace the city of Jeddah. LaFuente spent six years working on the beautification project of Jeddah, and I must admit, his sculptural pieces rank among my favorites. In Arabic calligraphy, this verse from the Qur’an reads: “And say: ‘My Lord, lead me in with a just ingoing, and lead me out with a just outgoing: Grant me authority from thee to help me.'”
To see more of Julio LaFuente’s amazing sculptures that I have featured in previous posts, click on any of the links below:
The Dallah Fountain
The Holy Koran
The Mameluke Lanterns
The Bicycle

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Middle East, Photo, Religion, Saudi Arabia, Sculptures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Verse Boat Sculpture

  1. Alan says:

    Hi Susie,

    I was just wondering how you get away with the photography in KSA? I believe that the ban on photography in public places was lifted in 2006 but has this gone into effect in real life?

    Thanks

    Alan [Jeddah]

    • I take most of my photos from a moving vehicle. I have only been asked to stop taking photos on two occasions, in grocery stores – but now when I want to take photos inside shops, I stop at the customer service desk to ask first and I haven’t had any problems since. On another occasion, I was at a mall and was taking a photo of a sign above the door to the women’s prayer room, and a woman walked out of the door at the same time. She came over to me and started yelling at me in Arabic – all I understood was “Haram!” (forbidden). She was not in the photo I took and she was cloaked in black from head to toe anyway, including the face veil, so I don’t know what her problem was. I showed her the photo of the sign above the door that I had taken and the ones prior to it, but she still kept yelling, so I just walked away. Other than those three times, I have not encountered aby problems. Sometimes my husband will take me out to take photos along the Red Sea or of the sculptures of Jeddah. I try to be discreet and I try not to take photos of women, although it is perfectly legal to do so when out in public – but women here still have this real aversion to it.

  2. Chiara says:

    Just saw this one–fabulous! ­čÖé

  3. Islamic sprit is beautiful, islam is endless creativ…
    MashAllah what a great impressiv majestic effects.
    I like it i love it.
    islamic sculptures are possible.
    Its not new we ahve in our islamic history & art begingg islamic sculptuires like
    tombstones ect.

    I do smaller islamic sculptures like arabic letters “Alif” “fa” or “w”.
    Some images are in my website. http://www.fuen-ul-islam.de
    Islamic art timeles, oceanic creativ.
    Best selam and wishes
    Hasan Temizt├╝rk

  4. Pingback: Accident Sculpture « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  5. Geogypsy says:

    Such grace. I have enjoyed all these sculptures, and the stories that go with them.

  6. The verse boat is due east of the Roshan Mall and the big Globe Sculpture at the intersection of Sultan. It really is a beautiful piece of art.

  7. umm muhammad says:

    great foto.im in jeddah.wer exactly is this beautiful sculpture

  8. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: A wonderfully done sculpture, thanks for the interpretation.

Leave a Reply

