My World: Dust Storm

dscf0013-1-copy
Most of Saudi Arabia is covered in desert with hardly any vegetation to speak of. It’s not a lush desert (sounds like an oxymoron, doesn’t it?) like the beautiful Sonoran Desert in Arizona and Mexico. So, in a place like this where there is very little annual rainfall, there is bound to be a lot of dust. Add a little bit of wind into the equation, and Presto! You have the perfect little dust storm. This occurs quite frequently at certain times of the year around here. How it happens is that severe daytime heat warms up the ground which makes the air very warm as well. Warm air rises, meeting higher winds above. The warm air and high winds mix together in a downward spiral, which create strong winds at the ground level. This can create major problems on the ground, one of which is traffic accidents. Just recently outside of Jeddah, there was a twenty car pile-up leaving three people dead and at least ten others injured, all stemming from a harsh dust storm which caused extremely hampered visibility. The dust storm in this photo is a fairly light one – many times the field of vision is much more severely impacted and is limited to maybe one car length or so.
I’m no stranger to dust storms – I lived in Arizona for many years and we had our fair share of them there. At any rate, dust storms sure make the job of dusting around the house a pain, no matter where you are!!!
That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Desert, Life, Nature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to My World: Dust Storm

  1. soulbrush says:

    oh god i used to hate dust storms in kuwait.

  2. mountain.mama says:

    My mouth feels gritty after seeing your picture and reading your post!

  3. Oh, Susie, that’s the first thing I thought of when you mentioned a dust storm—dusting the house everywhere afterwards. That sand creeps into every windowsill, crevice, you name it. It does a number on cars too. Well, if you got the time come see my Caribbean cruise photos that I’m doing all this week of our cruise last week.

  4. Ahh…dust and dust storms…something I’m all too familiar with! Dust storms might not happen all that often but, the dust is a never ending battle.

  5. I love in what was the Dustbowl of the Mid-west in the 30’s and so I understand. We get days when the sky is just brown with dirt! Great piccie.

  6. Driving in a sandstorm must be a lot like driving through blowing snow. Sandstorms must create pockmarks in buildings and damage cars and other vehicles.

  7. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: Living in the land of snow and ice it hard to think about a sand storm. I haven’t seem the ground for 30 days. We do have plenty of water.

  8. Indrani says:

    I have heard people loose their path in dust storms, wouldn’t want to caught in one.

  9. Erin says:

    informative post as always…as i hate to dust i surely wouldn’t want the wind adding to my dust accumulation…

    thanks for sharing

    have a great week.

    erin

  10. ewok1993 says:

    It resembles a fog. Is there any difference to what they call sandstorm to duststorm?

  11. Geogypsy says:

    That dust just stops up my sinuses so bad. Maybe a good time to cover the face. Great capture of the storm.
    Am I suppose to dust?

  12. Skies says:

    Hmmm…if it weren’t for the dust storm, then everything would have been fine, but still I like the road image, coz I am so obsessed with road images. 🙂

  13. Sonia says:

    Beautiful picture! I got caught in the dust storm a few times. It is miserable unless you’re wearing niqab.

  14. Aline C. says:

    Hello from Brazil! Your blog is very interesting because it shows a different world than I know.
    Take care,

  15. Wow, that’s a bad dust storm when it causes a major auto pileup.

  16. Guy D says:

    LOL at first glimpse I thought it was a snow storm. Great pic Susie

    Cheers!
    Regina In Pictures

  17. babooshka says:

    The UK is under snow and we are about to be so this is just an image that is so alien to me. I wonder what the kids would make of our snow? It must be the best excuse not to do the housework, oh no another dustball.

  18. imac says:

    We ll captured, something we very rearly get here.

  19. ummadam says:

    You beat me to it! I started to take a pic yesterday of one while I was looking at how dusty our ‘fresh’ outfoor hung laundry was 🙂

  20. Mo says:

    Global warming is making a major statement everywhere at present. I would find dust storme like this difficult to deal with. Londonis presently experiencing 1 in 50 yr snow storms. Still there is fun to br found. Do Arab children find some fun in a dust storm?

Leave a Reply

