SkyWatch: Rotation and Balance Sculpture

100_2515-2
“Rotation and Balance” is a two piece sculpture in solid white marble which is part of an assortment of similar modern marble sculptures created by a group of unnamed Belgian artists. The Red Sea was behind me as I snapped the photo. It is located in a section of the city’s open air art museum called Al-Hamra.
If you’ve been following this blog, you already know that Jeddah, Saudi Arabia, is a city bubbling over with amazing public works of art, many by world reknowned artists. The art is on display throughout the entire city. Jeddah occupies a stretch of land running north and south along the expansive Red Sea. Jeddah’s beautification project back in the 1970s involved developing the coastal area into a lovely family friendly recreation area called the Corniche which extends for miles. Families can picnic and barbecue here while enjoying the beauty of the Red Sea and be treated to the sight of dozens of unique sculptures that grace the scenic landscape.
I’m sure the woman in black on the left, although totally unrecognizable, was not too happy about me taking the photo with her in it, as Saudi women are overzealous about their privacy. Taking photos in this country can be a problem for me – there are many times when I opt out of taking pictures because of the privacy issue. Even though women are covered from head to toe in black when out in public, they can still get upset when someone tries to take their photo. Private photos of women sans hijab and veil have caused major problems for many women here. Women have been blackmailed or worse over photos showing their faces and hair. It can bring great disgrace to the family as a woman’s beauty is supposed to be shown only to her husband or other immediate family members. A bit off topic, but I thought you might be interested in this information.
Anyway, I thought this sky was pretty enough for a SkyWatch photo. Hope you like it too!
To fly MORE friendly skies around the world, visit SKYWATCH.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Culture, Landmarks, Life, Photo, Sculptures and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to SkyWatch: Rotation and Balance Sculpture

  1. Chris says:

    Very interesting sculptures! Beautiful against the blue sky.

  2. erin says:

    i like that you share the many pieces of public art with us…enjoy it very much. also enjoy your posts about the culture. it is most informative and welcomed by us 🙂
    have a wonderful weekend susie.

    erin

  3. Wonderful looking sculptures and perfectly set against the blue sky!

  4. babooshka says:

    You do have a phenomenal amount of outside art work. Your explanation about photographing woman is really an opener to us in the west. Still say you probably have the toughest job on the dailies for that reason alone.

  5. Denise says:

    A lovely photo and a very interesting post. I always am very interested to learn about different countries, their culture and I don’t know much about the Arab world. Thank you. I would like to come back and learn more.

  6. soulbrush says:

    lovely and so clean looking.

  7. Judy says:

    I wouldn’t have noticed the woman in the beautiful photo if you hadn’t said she was there. So not to worry, I think.
    I put another photo of the Dells on my blog today, I don’t know if this is the place that you lived long ago but if not, I will be posting pictures of the other two rock houses in the future.
    Have a great day!

  8. nadia says:

    Those are beautiful, modern sculptures. I never knew the Kingdom had so many of them! We don’t have much of sculptures here in the UAE.

    Oh, the sky is lovely 🙂

  9. Linnea says:

    You really captured the lighting at just the right time with this one. I love how the sun highlights the art pieces. Interesting story you told, too. I’m fascinated by your part of the world! Hi from Cal.

  10. Sonia says:

    Beautiful shot!

  11. Louise says:

    The sculpture is wonderful.

    And I always love your “off-topic” information or anything about the way of life there. It is so amazing to me. We hear about it, but don’t live it so it seems unreal until you tell it like you see it. Always intriguing.

  12. lawstude says:

    that is one amazing sculpture and you have explained it very well.

    let me share my white water rafting adventure to you here.

  13. Great look of sculpture,beautiful!!!.
    Have a nice day.

  14. I like the white white sculptures against the deep blue skies. Great photo.

    And great commentary on the status of women in Muslin countries. Women should show their beauty only to their husbands? How strange to me. I don’t condone scant attire on women but I do think that showing your face and hair is fine. God made the birds, bees and animals and we all consider it a blessing and a delight to see such creatures. So likewise I think that one of the glories of our world is seeing a pretty woman’s face and a woman’s beautiful hair be it dark or light or flaming red.

    I do so enjoy visiting your blog to get my Middle Eastern view of the world. Thank you. And have a great weekend! Joann

  15. kallen305 says:

    Love the contrast of the white sculpture against the blue sky.

  16. I’m quite surprised to see so much art in Jeddah. I hope you continue to take photos of it.

  17. Kris says:

    Really different from what I’d expect to see.

  18. ewok1993 says:

    I am getting my education of saudi from your blog.

    My SWF entry is over at http://calrat.blogspot.com

  19. imac says:

    Great post, blue sky and white marble great contrast.

  20. Guy D says:

    Those are cool sculptures, you captured them perfectly. Have a great weekend.

    Cheers!
    Regina In Pictures

Leave a Reply

