My World: Ladies Section of the Bank

dscf0702-1
This is a brand new investment bank in Jeddah. It has a very modern design with blue reflective windows and a rounded concave wall at the main entrance, which is for MEN only. How do I know this?
dscf0701-1
Around the corner to the right of the building is a totally separate entrance for the LADIES SECTION. This gives you an example as to the extreme and the extent of how totally segregated the sexes are here in my part of the world in Saudi Arabia.
That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Culture, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My World: Ladies Section of the Bank

  1. Susan says:

    Little would anyone know that here in Washington, DC at the Washington National Cathedral, the northern entrance is called the “Women’s Entrance” … everyone of course enters where they want, but still … it’s there.

  2. Kacy says:

    Amazing and true life! I definately will come on back to read about your life there Suzie!
    Thanks for sharing
    KK

  3. It seems so strange to segregate like this, I like the building though.

  4. Aafke says:

    Seperation is opne thing… But why do the men always get the better pafrt of the slice????

  5. Baruch says:

    A separate entrance for the ladies – wow, how extreme is that!

  6. That pictures represents a thousand stories I imagine. Wow! I just can’t fathom living like that. Women in the U.S. didn’t always have as much freedoma as today so I think back in the twenties there was a lot of pent up anger. I wonder if the women in Saudi Arabia have pent up anger over their situation and status in life? And better yet what does the modern Saudi man think about all this?

  7. Grammy says:

    Wow, I can not even imagine a life like that. I an so glad I live with more freedom. You are amazing to follow the rules.

  8. Indrani says:

    Hi Susie, thanks for this glimpse of your world! I guess this kind of separate entrances is not limited to the banks alone. Neat building!

  9. Carver says:

    I love the reflective part of the building. I had no idea that there would be a separate ladies entrance. Interesting shots and post.

  10. Erin says:

    i guess we should be thankful for our freedom of movement and thinking and actions here, shouldn’t we?
    i think that your posts make me realize how much many of us (women) take for granted…
    as always enjoy the posts.
    have a good week.
    erin

  11. I don’t know about the “men only” thing.But it is interesting.Just don’t know how well I would do there,tho.

  12. Walker says:

    I read a story today that the wife of a prince said she would ready to start driving if and when. I totally get it but man…. what a way to live.

  13. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: That is amazing, you share such interesting things from your world. The building is so modern yet so far behind the times in which we live.

  14. Wow, that’s interesting. Reminds me of black/white segregation in the south that shamefully lasted well into the 60’s.
    Beautiful building, though.

  15. babooshka says:

    Again such and every day act takes on a whole new meaning. I agree if you grow up with something it does not seem odd at all.

  16. imac says:

    So different ways out there, it looks a fab building.

  17. Guy D says:

    Wow what a different world, thanks for the pics Susie.

    Have a great week!
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  18. Hmmm. It never occurred to me that there would be separate entrances to a bank for men and women. After living so many years in the U.S., it must be hard for you to understand. But if you grew up with it, it would all seem very normal…probably.

  19. ewok1993 says:

    It is very modern. I wonder if they would let you photograph the interior 🙂

Leave a Reply

