My World: Outdoor Fruit & Vegetable Market

dscf0651-1
This colorful scene is a small section of the largest outdoor fruit and vegetable market in Jeddah. The entire market occupies a huge area of about 3 city blocks wide by 3 blocks long. There are hundreds of vendors selling an assortment of fresh fruits and vegetables. Foreign workers dressed in yellow jumpsuits push around small flatbeds filled with the customers’ purchases which they then load into their cars for a small tip.
dscf0650-1
The areas containing the merchandise are shaded. However the wide aisles where customers walk are not shaded, so on a warm day and dressed in black from head to toe, it can be a grueling experience. I prefer going to this market during the cooler winter months. Prices are unbelievably cheap. For example, a bag of 19 full garlic heads/bulbs costs 2 riyals, which is 50 cents (US).   Herbs are sold in bulk here and are a real bargain.

Be my guest and enjoy some previous posts I did on this amazing place by clicking on the links below:
Shopping at the Fruit & Vegetable Souk
Fresh Vegetable Market
Old Men at Vegetable Market
Fresh Produce
Outdoor Vegetable Market
That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Food, Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia, Shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My World: Outdoor Fruit & Vegetable Market

  1. Md.Insan Ali says:

    All of that fresh fruit looks great, Susie. Your world always tantalizes my imagination.

  2. Sana says:

    Can you provide me the address of fruit and vegetable market?

  3. Rishard Raufdeen says:

    Someone, kindly let me know the Pineapple, Avocado & Ginger current price in jeddah.

  4. Denise says:

    I feel like a door is slowly opening in my mind. Your blog is so interesting and I am enjoying learning about Saudi Arabia from someone who actually lives there. Wonderful photos.

  5. Latane says:

    What a variety of fruits and veggies. I could get lost in a place like that and come away broke.

  6. Marahm says:

    Ah, the fruit and vegetable markets of Saudi Arabia…! They reign supreme, with their high quality produce, and low, low prices. I miss them very much!

  7. Kacy says:

    That is neat that the workers wear a uniform colors!
    Loved this,
    KK

  8. That looks like some beautiful fresh fruit. I’d love to shop in the open air, but having to wear black and stand in the sun during summer would not be fun.

  9. Indrani says:

    Lots of hustle and bustle, but looks very disciplined and orderly too. Interesting pictures to go with the post.

  10. Hi One and All – Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    To Chris and Jon – Many of the foreign laborers dress in these jumpsuits. The ones that work at the fruit and vegetable market wear yellow. The ones who clean the streets wear lavendar or blue, depending on which company they work for. I’ve seen other colors on men working in automotive shops.

  11. Today's Blah says:

    I love that fruit stand…hhmmm yummy!

  12. Carver says:

    That looks like a wonderful market. I love fresh produce. To answer your question about the herb garden I showed, I don’t think you can take home clippings but I grow a lot of herbs myself. Not anything like as extensive though as what they have at the botanical garden.

  13. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: Neat information and great photos of the market.

  14. SandyCarlson says:

    Such a busy place. All of that fresh fruit looks great, Susie. Your world always tantalizes my imagination.

  15. Do only foreign workers wear a different color?your post is so very interesting.

  16. Geogypsy says:

    The fruit looks very appealing. Nice to shop fresh and open air, but not if it’s hot in black.

  17. Jacob says:

    You have a fascinating blog…I think perhaps most Americans, myself included, know very little about Saudi Arabia.

    That market must be seen to be believed!

Leave a Reply

