My World: Camel Herder

dscf0892-1-copy
This is a camel herder who lives out in the desert. He wears the long white traditional dress men wear here, called a thobe, plus a scarf on his head to help protect him from the hot sun. When the camel herder wants to sit down, he can either rest in the beat up old chair on the left or he can relax on the red carpet which is laid on top of the ground to the right. This carpet is probably also where he prays the five daily prayers required in Islam. You can also see in the background several bales of hay which the camels are fed. There is also a big white water tank to the right of the truck.
The four stainless steel bowls turned upside down on the crudely fashioned table in front of him are used when he milks one of the mama camels for a customer who wants camel milk. Sometimes camels are also sold for slaughter here for their lean meat. Camel meat is readily available in supermarkets.
That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Animals, Culture, Desert, Food, Life, Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to My World: Camel Herder

  1. mike says:

    I like camels. I fed one out here in New York at a game farm. They are very friendly animals for anyone who wants to know.

  2. mike says:

    can I send you a book Glad News My Muslim friend?

  3. Tammie says:

    your world is so different from mine, and yet we live in the same world. So very interesting. Thank you so much for sharing!

  4. JM says:

    Fantastic shot! Every detail is worth seeing! The sofa, the improvised table, the carpet… Love this!

  5. Your world is just so different. The chair made me giggle, but also made me sad that this is his home too. Fascinating.

  6. Wow, not every day of the week that I get to look at a camel driver/camel milker!
    Great pic to share with the rest of the world.

  7. Musings says:

    Dina sent me over to your blog and I’m really enjoying it. I love seeing another part of the world. We were in Egypt a year ago and remember seeing scenes like those you show here. This is so much fun.

  8. Lilli says:

    What an interesting post i love it. I was surprised to see that big old chair out there. I never thought about eating camel wonder what it takes like?

  9. Dina says:

    Everything he needs. Simplicity is the good life.

  10. Indrani says:

    Nice glimpse of the place there!
    Desert life is so different!

  11. Wow! I’m amazed. Such a different way of life. He looks like he could use some shade, too, maybe an umbrella.

    Camels are an important way of life in your world, aren’t they?
    Have you ever eaten camel meat or drank camel milk? What do they taste like?

    ~Lisa
    New Mexico, USA

  12. Geogypsy says:

    Looks like he’s got a pretty good set up. Love the rug. Is that duck tape on the chair? I guess that’s a universal product.

  13. Great photo. The lounge chair is interesting, and isn’t that an auto in the background. Seems that there’s an amazing array of culture there, from ancient to modern.

  14. Grammy says:

    Great photo. I once seen a bay camel in person it was adorable. Have a great week.

  15. Today's Blah says:

    Hmmm…now I know about camel herders. That old chair is fascinating. It gave me a smile. 🙂

  16. Arija says:

    I like his measuning bowls. Nive post.

  17. Carver says:

    Great shot and a very interesting post to me.

  18. babooshka says:

    Again this something else. Would you be able to show camel racing? You be careful though.

  19. sylvia says:

    Love learning about your world! and seeing your photos! great shots! Thanks for sharing!

  20. Guy D says:

    Great Myworld post as always Susie, thanks for sharing.

    Have a great week!
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  21. ewok1993 says:

    Have you had camel milk? Interesting post. I always look forward to your posts every week.

  22. Jacob says:

    What a fascinating snapshot of another world from where I live. Thank you. The old chair is priceless!

Leave a Reply

