SkyWatch: Dome and Tilework

dscf1642-1-copy
This magnificent colorful illustration of Eastern art shows the beautiful elaborate design of a portico at the consulate of the Islamic Republic of Iran in Jeddah. This theme is carried throughout the exterior of the grounds and it is stunning. There are several domes like this on the property. I think it is one of the more beautiful embassies in the area.
To fly MORE friendly skies around the world, visit SKYWATCH.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Buildings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to SkyWatch: Dome and Tilework

  1. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: Neat skies over the fancy dome.

  2. Oh this is wonderful, I have done a bit of mosaicing in the past and it’s far harder than it looks!

  3. fruitfulfusion says:

    That’s gorgeous!

  4. Deb says:

    Such beautiful colors, the photo is great!

  5. Laurie says:

    Very pretty! I love seeing this through your eyes. As they peek through your veil. xoxo.

  6. Arija says:

    Just lovely Susie! So like my Persian carpets.

  7.  Etje says:

    Good sky watch captures.

  8. Steffi says:

    I forgot to tell…the pattern in the middle could be a wonderful design for a fabric.This are a thought of me because I sew often…

  9. Steffi says:

    Wow…that´s a great photo!I like the colors,very beautiful.Have a nice weekend!

  10. Hilda says:

    Oh wow! That portico and dome are just stunningly beautiful! Happy Sky Watching!

  11. Geogypsy says:

    I wonder if someone picked the tile out to match the sky. Awesome.

  12. mariamellie says:

    Dear Susie, That is such a beautiful dome! I love the color and the ornament, ooohhh.. I wish I could work in an embassy with that kind of dome one day, applying both my IR studies and photography…. 🙂 I enjoy both your blog a lot though I don’t leave comment so often. Salam Susie!

  13. Yoli says:

    Susie! What is this secret you have been holding out on? I did not know about this gorgeous blog! Oh I am adding it to my list of beloved blogs.

  14. Carver says:

    What a beautiful dome and the sky is the perfect back drop for it.

  15. kallen305 says:

    Such a gorgeous building that looks even more magnificent contrasted by the sky.

  16. Champ says:

    Love this shot!! Excellent sky watch.

  17. Guy D says:

    I always enjoy your architecture shots, this one included, beautiful.

    Have a great weekend!
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  18. WOW What inspiration!That is absolutely beautiful!

  19. koala says:

    I’ve viewed your list of followed blogs briefly and it seems to me You’re only into Muslim or living n a Muslim country blogs. Don’t You ever feel the need to have a glimpse of the life before?

  20. sylvia says:

    Really stunning and dramative shot with the beautiful tile work in the dome against the blue, blue sky! Wonderful! Thanks for sharing not only the photos but the information!

  21. Ida says:

    Very nice shot!
    Love the mosaic! :)))

  22. Today's Blah says:

    This is an awesome photo of the dome and the sky. What a perfect combination.

  23. great shot – I love seeing scenes from around the world . . . this is not something I see very often. Thanks for sharing.

  24. Sue says:

    Hi Susie,
    I haven’t been to all the blogs I like to visit lately, because there are too many. I just enjoyed reading the posts to the bottom of this page. I love the camel sculpture, the spices, your Skywatches, and especially the clove box wedding favor. Thanks for sharing your world with us!

    I decided not to subscribe to your follow up comments, since I am so behind, and you don’t have many yet, so there may be a lot coming, but you can come over to my A Corner Garden blog if you’d like to say hi.

  25. imac says:

    Wonderful colour.

  26. ewok1993 says:

    I like the elaborate detailing in that building. And Louise is correct, the sky just blends in.

    My entry is over at my other blog: http://calrat.blogspot.com

  27. The sky just blends into the ornate building. Very pretty.

Leave a Reply

