My World: Sunflower Field Fountain

dscf1474-1-copy
Holding the distinction of being only one of two women invited to contribute any projects to the City of Jeddah’s beautification project, Eila Hiltunen was a Finnish artist who is famous for creating the most famous landmark in her native land, called the The Sibelius Monument. Hiltunen is credited with creating at least three sculptures in Jeddah. The Sunflower Field Fountain is an outstanding work of art located in a lagoon on Jeddah’s Corniche by the Red Sea and is constructed of corrosion-resistant acid-proof stainless steel. Selecting the proper grade of steel for this sculpture was of the utmost importance to ensure its durability in withstanding the elements. The attractive work of art has been a Jeddah landmark since its completion in 1984. This imposing fountain has the distinction of being the largest sculpture by a Finnish artist ever commissioned from overseas. It makes for an interesting and delightful contradiction in this land of scorching desert landscapes. The other female artist who was commissioned to create artwork for Jeddah was Laila Pullinen, who was also from Finland.
That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Photo, Sculptures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to My World: Sunflower Field Fountain

  1. Pingback: Sunflower Field Fountain Sculpture « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  2. Susan says:

    Susie, thank you for the link. I like learning too. 😉

  3. Puça says:

    Just beautiful!!

  4. Carver says:

    That’s fantastic. I am enjoying the sculpture you are showing us from your world.

  5. So beautiful and also fun!

  6. Suzie, you really do have some amazing sculpture and art pieces around you!

  7. Thanks to all for your nice comments!

    To Susan – Yes, it was. I found a rather interesting history about it at this link:
    http://www.eilahiltunen.net/monument.html
    Thanks for the question. I learned something new too!

  8. Gina says:

    Very pretty and unique!

  9. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: Neat art work and thaks for all the info. It is surprising they would use a women for the project.

  10. Reader Wil says:

    I love it! It’s so beautiful! Thank you for showing!

  11. Susan says:

    Susie, is this Sibelius after the composer?

  12. Jan says:

    I just love metal flowers. And the story about Hiltunen is inspiring!

  13. Susie, you killed two birds with one stone or you did two terrific stories in one blog post: history of sunflower fountain in arab world and introducing Daily Photo folks to My World Tuesday.

    Great job! Take a bow.

    Encore! Encore please.

  14. Arija says:

    I would love to see the fountain running, it must be splendid with a slanting sun shining through it.

  15. Geogypsy says:

    Sunflowers by a woman, that’s really loaded with contradictions. I love the sculpture.

    I’d trade places with you, but only for one day.

  16. nadia says:

    That is beautiful, Susie. And I suppose it looks equally beautiful at night when the lights are on. Thank you so much for sharing the picture and info about your world!

  17. Louise says:

    This is really beautiful. I love how you know so much about the things where you live.

  18. Indrani says:

    Eye-catching art work!
    It must look very beautiful when the fountains are on.

  19. SandyCarlson says:

    How those sumflowers seem to nod and smile. That is really cheerful.

  20. What an interesting sculpture. I’d love to see it turned on.

  21. Hi Everyone – thanks for stopping by and leaving your comments!

    For EG Tour Guide – I have never had the luck to see this fountain when it is on, however I have seen one photo of it in action. There are several sprays that are directed from the pool below up to the center part of the sunflowers. It’s a bit misty looking. I keep hoping to be able to catch a shot of it when it’s working – if I do, I’ll post it!

  22. Guy D says:

    Wow I can honestly say I’ve never seen a sunflower fountain, great shot.

    Have a great week!
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  23. I was really hoping to see the real sunflowers when I saw the title, but I was even surprised and awed to see that they were stainless ones. Just so beautiful, a very great work of art. Thanks for showing this.

  24. Champ says:

    Gorgeous photo, Suzie, and thanks for the history that goes with it.

  25. imac says:

    Really enjoy your posts, also smiled at your prev post.

  26. ewok1993 says:

    Pretty cool work. I think sunflowers are perfect for this.

  27. babooshka says:

    Your posts just deliever so much valuable info each week about your strange world. The sunflowers are just gorgeous

  28. Jacob says:

    Fascinating bit of history here. And the sunflowers are unique and beautiful.

  29. I love, love, LOVE those sunflowers! I wonder what it looks like when the water is turned on.

  30. sylvia says:

    That really is very unique and beautiful! Thanks for sharing not only the photo but the history — that always makes the photos all the more interesting, I think. Thanks for visiting my blog, too!

Leave a Reply

