City Daily Photo Theme Day: Yellow

dscf9094-1-copy
I realize that the golden arches of McDonalds glow in practically every country in the world. Saudi Arabia is no exception. That’s “McDonalds” written in Arabic script underneath the easily recognizable yellow “M” symbol. The large free-standing wheel in front of it is part of the famous Bicycle Sculpture of Jeddah, which I have featured in a previous post. This represents the spare wheel and it is placed some 90 meters away from the Bicycle itself while both still occupy the center ground of the huge traffic roundabout where they stand.
City Daily Photo is an online organization of photo bloggers who present unique glimpses into their cities by posting photos of their surroundings. The first of every month is CDP’s Theme Day where the members present photos adhering to a selected theme. This month’s theme is YELLOW.
Click here to view thumbnails for all participants

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Art, Landmarks, Sculptures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to City Daily Photo Theme Day: Yellow

  1. Great site this susieofarabia.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  2. Jemyr Anover says:

    This famous bicycle roundabout is located along Madinah road near Faisaliah district where I used to stay. After looking at these Jeddah photos I couldnt help feel nostalgic about it. I’m now wondering if I will have another opportunity to see these places again.

  3. tash says:

    Hee-hee! I think this view of the golden arches is one that the blogger community can really appreciate. Super post for TD!

  4. Antjas says:

    Do they serve kibbee in pita bread instead of hamburger in a bun? I bet it would taste better.

  5. Mo says:

    I was looking for one picture of the golden arches. I didn’t expect it from here. Great picture

  6. Jan says:

    Oh, the language of the golden arches. So far, these are the only ones we’ve seen today. Can’t believe how diverse yellow day has been! Together, the CDP folks can accomplish so much!!!!

  7. nathalie says:

    Ah the ubiquitous Golden arches… the Arabic lettering and the architectural context make your photo very special indeed.

  8. Judy says:

    Everyone knows those golden arches…great post for the theme day yellow.

  9. Bill B. says:

    They’re taking over the world, one burger at a time.

  10. Ian says:

    Salaam Dear Susie,

    I am always enjoying your posts every each day and today’s post is very well captured.

    Anyway, We have the same Big M here in Bahrain.

    Mak Duunal is indeed worldwide famous!

  11. Jilly says:

    Yes, McDonald’s are everywhere – not always with such a large sign tho – but yours is a perfect choice for today’s theme. Good thinking!

  12. ineke says:

    my 6 yr old would be reassured 🙂

  13. lavenderlady says:

    I am always amazed at why it surprises me to see MCDonalds EVERYWHERE!

  14. now this is a familiar yellow for theme day.

  15. Jacob says:

    Hi Susie…I just saw an article in the March 30 issue of Newsweek, entitled “The Monarch Who Declared His Own Revolution.”

    Subtitled – “King Abdullah, 85, is racing to reform Saudi Arabia. How much can he accomplish — and will it last.”

    Then another comment: “Saudi law treats women as inferior, but hopes have been raised by one of the king’s daughters.”

    I’ve not read the whole thing yet, but it certainly looks interesting. Can you get Newsweek there? I’ll bet you could find the article online.

    I think it must be Wednesday there so I’ll just say “Have a great day!”

  16. Geogypsy says:

    Even knowing McDs is international it seems strange to see the Arabic under the Arches. How much does a burger cost there? Not that I’d want to eat it. Seems like your beef prices were higher than here.

    That’s certainly Yellow.

  17. Neo says:

    The M sign is widely known worldwide, the thought of shooting that also came to my mind. In the end i posted another photo instead for this month’s theme. 🙂

  18. babooshka says:

    Familiar image but as always the lettering adds a unique twist I have come to expect from you.

  19. Yoli says:

    That is so cool!!! Seing the McD’s sign with Arabic letters!!!! Great photo!

  20. Jacob says:

    Wow, did you pack a lot into this photo. That’s so funny to see McDonalds in Arabic! And yes, McDonalds is ubiquitous world-wide, for good or bad.

    Great photo, Susie!

  21. Sally says:

    I wonder if Maccas have established an outlet on the Moon yet?

    Sydney Daily Photo

Leave a Reply

