Lantern and Dome

dscf3404-1-copy
Styled after the Capitol Building in Washington DC, this impressive structure is actually a popular shopping mall in Jeddah. I took this photo from the delightful rooftop lounge area of a restaurant across the street. The lantern on the left lights the rooftop where I was positioned, and I zoomed in on the building which is a good two blocks away. I thought it made for an interesting composition.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Shopping and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Lantern and Dome

  1. mohammed says:

    WOW the pic is great and what ever i thought I would comment was already done.well its really nice to see these places.
    Hey susie i thnk this is the City plaza (correct me if i am worng) in jeddah i am forgetting the street where it is.
    Nice work cant say much–speechless!!!

  2. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: Cool shot, I thought you were visiting the states for a minute.

  3. Jan says:

    How funny that the picture is a shopping center! You mentioned not being able to drive. Do you miss it? At any rate, glad you are able to snap so many photos while moving around town!!!

  4. m_m says:

    Beautiful building! Interesting composition with the lantern:)

  5. Ibrahim says:

    Hi susie
    Welcome in SA and specialy in Jeddah..

    I can say you made me proud of our bueatiful city..

    this is very good pic.

    i suppose you found many modern buildings in Jeddah during your sightseen..from the comments above I assume that a lot of Americans don’t know very much about SA and you gave them some
    thank you very much and welcome again..

  6. Hi Lynn, Cieldequimper, Hilda, GeoGypsy, & Bill – Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    Hi Jacob – I don’t know when it was built, but I wouldn’t be surprised if Bush was an influence!

    Hi Jerry – I use a Fujifilm FinePix S5700, 7.1mp, 10x Optical zoom. Not exactly my dream camera, but it does take some decent pics for me. Thank goodness for digital – if not, I would be wasting so much film!

  7. Bill B. says:

    The first thing I thought was, D.C.

  8. Jerry M says:

    What kind of camera do you have?

    You do very nice work.

  9. Geogypsy says:

    Seems appropriate to have a mall modeled after the Capital Building. Nice capture.

  10. Hilda says:

    A shopping mall? Heehee! Fantastic lighting though and a great shot!

  11. Jacob says:

    Good zooming. How interesting that a shopping mall in SA would be modeled after the US capital. Did they build it when Bush I was trying to run the world?

  12. Wow! Very cool shot. It does look a bit like the Capitol!

  13. lynn says:

    How pretty this is, Susie.

Leave a Reply

