Old World Charm

dscf3399-1-copy
This is a seating area in a lovely restaurant in Jeddah. The ambience is warm, comfortable, and inviting. On the night we were there to eat dinner with a new friend, we ended up spending six hours enjoying our meal and the delightful conversation. The Lebanese food was excellent, by the way.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Food, Hospitality, Middle East and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Old World Charm

  1. Hi Bill – I love Lebanese food too. I’d love to go to Lebanon and see what it tastes like there!

    Hi Always – It is rather regal looking, isn’t it?

  2. always in the kitchen says:

    It looks like the dining room in a palace!

  3. Bill B. says:

    My best fiend growing up was Lebanese. I love the food, can pronounce most of it in Arabic.

  4. Hi Jacob – Thanks so much!

    Hi GeoGypsy – Women keep their abayas on at all times when out in public places. My friend did not wear her scarf, but had it handy. I wore my scarf because my husband wanted me to.

    Hi Erin – Great question. I’m not sure if I will answer it correctly or not, so if someone wants to correct me, feel free. I was with my husband, and we had an unrelated female guest with us. Techincally she could get in big trouble if she were out with another man who is not her husband, but since I was there too, I don’t think it would be a problem. There are family sections where related men and women can sit together, and there are separate sections for single men or men who are not with female family members. We’ve been out to eat with my brother-in-law and his wife.

    There was a case last year where a married woman went to a Starbucks family section with a male co-worker and they were both arrested.
    http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/middle_east/article3321637.ece

  5. Erin says:

    lovely ambience … now you can sit and enjoy food at the same table with the men in this setting? i recall in previous post(s) you mentioned something about men and women eating in separate areas at restaurants…now is that at certain restaurants only?

  6. Geogypsy says:

    What a comfy looking place for a leisurely dinner with friends. Do the women sit and couches completely covered?

  7. Jacob says:

    It looks plush. With good food and good friends, I can see how you could spend hours there.

    Nice photo.

Leave a Reply

