Bowling Lanes in Jeddah

dscf3303-1-copy
I had heard there was a bowling alley in Jeddah and was surprised when we drove past it recently. Many activities here in Saudi Arabia exclude women from participating, or they might have very limited hours/days when women and families can particpate and single men might be excluded. This is to ensure that unrelated men and women do not have the opportunity to come into contact with another.   This facility sports 24 lanes and has an arcade area as well as a snack bar.  Women are allowed to bowl in the mornings, and only men are allowed to bowl in the evenings.   There are a few other smaller bowling alleys in the city.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Life, Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bowling Lanes in Jeddah

  1. maro tuwawa says:

    Hi every one…for more detail about JEDDAH LANES…. please search our facebook pages
    for any parties and ocassion party packages available thank you…

  2. Sarah says:

    hey this is the 1st time i’ve heard of this place. Could you please tell me where it exactly is? I’d love to go there some time with my friends

  3. aylarox says:

    I used to go to Jeddah Lanes when I was in high school because they had a small internet cafe inside that of course enables me to access the internet for a certain fee, i’m not sure if they still have that one though. That was six or seven years ago. I go in the mornings since women can’t enter the place by 4pm. 🙂

  4. Nolene says:

    I believe there is a bowling alley in Iceland opposite Sultan Mall. Both men and women can compete as a friend of mine usually plays every Friday.

  5. HishMaj says:

    Just an FYI,
    there are bowling lanes where families can take part together, day/night. The best one I have been to so far, is in Iceland (Prince Sultan St. – opposite Sultan Mall)

  6. Yoli says:

    Susie! That is my favorite, favorite thing to do in the whole world!!! I would love to have a copy of that picture to frame…sigh.

  7. Martha says:

    I was wondering if a woman could bowl with her sons? Would they have to be under a certain age? It seems like it would be hard to have the kind of family outings Americans are used to.

  8. m_m says:

    Indeed, it’s very interesting! They have to manage…

  9. Fred Groh says:

    Dear Susie –
    I would like to consider publishing the Jeddah Lanes picture and caption. Could you email me a private email address? Thanks.

    Fred Groh
    Managing Editor
    International Bowling Industry
    13245 Riverside Dr., Suite 501
    Sherman Oaks, CA 91423
    p: 818-789-2695
    f: 818-789-2812

  10. Hi Geogypsy – No, not yet. I would think they have leagues so I have to find out the details. I just don’t want to have to bowl wearing an abaya though!!!

    Hi Jacob – I used to be in a mixed league too and it was so much fun. The only drawback was the cigarette smoke!!!

    Hi Bill – Thanks so much for your comment. Makes me think this is all worthwhile…

  11. Bill B. says:

    I love learning about this culture from your perspective. It adds much to my understanding of that part of the world.

  12. Jacob says:

    Well, at least they let you bowl – if you so desire…I always enjoyed the mixed leagues, though. The women seemed to be less competitive and wanted mostly to have a good time – although they didn’t give an inch.

  13. Geogypsy says:

    Did you go bowling? Maybe there’s a women’s league.

Leave a Reply

