My World: Elderly Wisdom

dscf4448-1-copy
I was so happy to catch this shot of an elderly man seemingly giving advice to a younger man who is listening intently. I love capturing these candid slices of Saudi life which are generally so elusive to me. Maybe the old man is just telling the younger one a story from the good old days, or quite possibly they are talking about religion. The men are sitting outside enjoying the cool evening air on the steps of a small business. They sit on thin cushions and there is an arm rest for the old man. He appears relaxed with one leg crossed over the other, his sandal off, as he holds a cup of tea in one hand while the gold teapot sits to the right, which leads me to believe that sitting out like this is something he does frequently and that maybe he lives closeby. By the way, there are no senior retirement homes that I know of here in Saudi Arabia. The elderly are taken care of by their families. It’s not uncommon for many homes to contain three generations of the family.

Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Clothing, Culture, Life, Tradition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to My World: Elderly Wisdom

  1. Dina says:

    Ha, very funny. Bothered maybe, but not hot.
    Seriously, I assumed it must be some taboo for men too to show too much skin.

  2. Hi BritGal – One day I want to go to Turkey!

    Hi Billie – You and your bright ideas!!!

    Hi Dina – I have seen some men wearing long shorts, however most men wear long pants or long thobes. I hope the sight of his leg didn’t get you all hot and bothered because certainly if it were a woman’s leg, the men around here wouldn’t be able to control themselves!

  3. Dina says:

    I must say, after all my years in the Mideast, this is the first time to see an Arab man’s leg exposed.

  4. Billie says:

    I enjoyed the whimsical interpretations of the current photos. It would be interesting if viewers would add their thoughts daily about what “might be” or “could be” happening in each daily situation////;o)

  5. This reminds me alot of Turkish life, you would see sights like this often, although the clothing is different.

  6. Hi Carver – Thanks – glad you enjoyed it…

  7. Hi Janie, Ewok, Yogi, Nadia, Jacob, Judy & EG – Thanks so much for your comments. Much appreciated.

    Hi GeoGypsy – Still no firm plans yet – my hubby always keeps me hanging until the last minute – grrr.

    Hi Sirius – Very wise words!

    Hi Marahm – I honestly didn’t think this post would evoke the playful side of people, but you never know. Perhaps it was a bit too serious and needed some lightening up!

    Hi Joann & Jack – No, no! Dying young is not the answer! Just teach the kids from early on that they better take care of us when we’re old!!!

  8. Carver says:

    Wonderful photograph and post. I liked this so much.

  9. That’s the difference between the west and the east—-respect for elders. Here in the west we want to get the old folks out of the house and into an old folks home. I guess the answer is to dy young!

  10. How interesting that often three generations live under one roof.I’m trying to imagine what that would be like as it is so rare here in Canada.

  11. Judy says:

    Great shot, Susie. Thanks for the peek into daily life in your corner of the world.

  12. Jacob says:

    Excellent comment, Sirius. You are one smart cookie!

  13. Marahm says:

    Lovely photo! Reading comments about the possible content of the conversation is amusing, but I think the important point here is that the two men seem to be really communicating.

    In such a gender polarized society, I think same sex relationships tend to be deeper, more complex, and ultimately more enriching.

  14. sirius says:

    I think he is saying–
    “Son, listen carefully, when you tell wife no.1 that you are about to take a second wife, make sure of a few things: she is not in the kitchen with a knife in her hand, that you have a new expensive watch and designer handbag to give her, and, listen carefully because this is the most important of all, do not try this if she is from Missouri.”

  15. nadia says:

    A great picture to remind us to listen to our elders. There’s so much we can learn from them.

  16. Geogypsy says:

    That’s a great candid capture Susie. I’ll bet those are hard to get, and especially for a woman. He does have a wise and relaxed look.

    I hope you do get to spend some days with me in AZ.

  17. yogi says:

    Great candid picture. Don’t see too many scenes like that here in the US.

  18. ewok1993 says:

    I love this street scene you captured. It does speak volumes. The viewer can make his/her own story about this picture.

    I always enjoyed your posts. I may not comment all the time but I’m here reading them.

  19. That is a very nice candid shot.
    I like the conversation Jacob provided!

  20. Hi Yoli – Thanks! I know there are many countries around the world that do this as well. I believe you can judge a country by the way they treat their elders and their children.

    Hi MM, Fishing Guy, Koala, & Sylvia – Thanks so much! I appreciate your comments.

    Hi Jacob – Thanks for your interpretation. I hadn’t considered that before, but now I can see it!!! You are hilarious.

    Hi Babooshka – They really seem to be having a meaningful conversation to me. Thanks.

  21. babooshka says:

    I am struck by the way the younger guy is actually listening. Here that might not be the case. In an image you can convey so much of your world.

  22. Jacob says:

    This is quite interesting, Susie. Here’s what I think what the older man is saying:

    Old Man: “I met your momma in Miami Beach.”

    Young Man: “Miami Beach. No, impossible. She’s a Saudi!”

    OM: Shhhhh. Not so loud. Keep it down. It was many years ago. I was in Miami on business. We went to a new deli that had just opened on Collins Avenue. She was a waitress there.”

    YM: I can’t believe this. Why haven’t you told me before?”

    OM: I said keep it down. You weren’t old enough to understand. But it was the will of Allah. She was, is, beautiful and when she winked at me when I ordered tea, I fell in love, right at that moment. Because I had to leave the next morning for Jeddah, I said to her, “Marry me.”

    YM: No!

    OM: Yes! She looked at me with those deep, dark eyes of hers, and said “OK. Wait for me in front while I get rid of this apron.”

    YM: Just like that?

    OM: Yes, just like that. Turned out she was from Missouri, and she said that she loved me, too, from the moment she saw me. I told her we were leaving for Saudi Arabia in the morning and she said that was fine with her, she’d had enough of Miami Beach anyway.”

    YM: So, I’m part Missourian.

    OM: Yes, that’s why you’re so stubborn!

    Well, that could have been the conversation!

  23. sylvia says:

    What a fabulous photo! It almost tells a story all by itself! Love the chance to learn and see where you live. Thanks so much for sharing, it’s just great!!

  24. koala says:

    That is a great capture!

  25. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: Amazing capture, definetly wisdom is being given,

  26. m_m says:

    Really great capture! And beautiful description of the photo!

  27. Yoli says:

    Oh Susie thank you for sharing! Love the photo. Where I come from we also take care of our elderly, we do not believe and it is a great insult to send them to a nursing home.

Leave a Reply

