Traffic Stop

dscf4259-1-copy
Take my word for it, this is a very unusual sight here in Saudi Arabia. The first few months I was here, I rarely even saw a police officer, and I certainly can count on one hand, the number of times I have actually seen a traffic stop in the year and a half that I have been here. The traffic here in Jeddah is horrendous. Well, what would one expect in a place where only men are allowed to drive? I wondered if these traditionally dressed men were able to talk their way out of a ticket…

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Clothing, Culture, Life, Photo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Traffic Stop

  1. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: You have to tell us if they were let go. Would your husband get through without a ticket?

  2. Geogypsy says:

    I’ll bet, at worse, it was just a warning.

  3. Hi Bill – I believe Saudi Arabia is the only country in the world that prohibits women from driving. Supposedly it’s for their own safety. In a society where there is no social contact allowed between the sexes, many women here are forced to have hired drivers or take taxis. This puts them in a position where they are alone with an unrelated man. It makes no sense at all, plus it’s an additional expense for the family, as most drivers are sponsored, full time, and provided with lodging. It’s easy for women to make cell calls while being chauffeured around!

  4. Bill B. says:

    Women are not allowed to drive? When do they make their cell phone calls?

  5. Hi Sirius – Yes, having connections here is called “wasta” and it’s sometimes the only way to get things done!

    Hi Jacob and Walker – I always wonder what’s really going on when I see stuff like this.

    Hi Arija – When I first came here, I was shocked at the amount of graffiti! There is so much more than in the states – it’s everywhere here! I’m of the opinion that there is not much for the youth here to do, so they resort to graffiti.

  6. Arija says:

    I am amazed that graffiti has spread into the Middle East.

  7. Walker says:

    Probably just their brother-in-law making plans for the weekend.

  8. Jacob says:

    My first thought was Oh,oh!

  9. sirius says:

    Chances are good if these guys are “connected” there will be no ticket. However in the UAE these incidents even fender benders between two locals were always the most friendly sociable events with greetings, smiles and lots of chatting!

Leave a Reply

