SkyWatch: Desert Living

dscf4275-1-copy
Many Bedouins still live in the desert lands of Saudi Arabia under the sky and the stars, although their numbers have dwindled significantly due to modernization, population growth, and other factors such as severe drought. On the drive from Jeddah to Makkah, I saw dozens of tents like these, out in the middle of nowhere. Many are equipped with generators, air conditioning, and even satellite dishes. Herding animals, like camels, goats, or sheep, is the way many Bedouins make their living. Bedouins are very much a tribal society based strongly on family units. There’s a famous Bedouin saying which goes, “I and my brothers against my cousins; I and my brothers and my cousins against the world.”

To fly MORE friendly skies around the world, visit SKYWATCH.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Animals, Culture, Desert, Life, Nature, Tradition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to SkyWatch: Desert Living

  1. Puça says:

    hahaha I find so funny that Bedouin say!!

  2. Dina says:

    White tents?? Here they are still black, made from the goat hair (hence the name “the house of hair” in Arabic).

  3. Arija says:

    Traditional life styles may have been harsh, but they were sustainable unlike the world run by economic rationalism.
    The country has a harsh beautu.

  4. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: My that is a big change from the austere life the desert travelers used to live.

  5. Erin says:

    enjoyed the commentary and the photo was most interesting.
    have a great weekend.

  6. Thanks, Sirius – Yes, my husband has told me that it’s difficult to understand Bedu. I haven’t actually had much opportunity to socialize with them myself!!!

  7. Thanks to everyone for your nice comments…

  8. sirius says:

    ewok–in my experience Bedu have always been very friendly and hospitable but I have heard even native born Arabic speakers sometimes have problems with Bedu dialect. I love this picture–it reminds me of watching camels being herded down the highway by men in landcruisers and across the dunes by men on dunebuggies!

  9. mountain mama says:

    That’s an interesting blend of ancient and modern in one picture.

  10. Martha says:

    As always, I appreciate the insight to a world so different then mine.

  11. Bill B. says:

    Wish we still had that sense of family here.

  12. Write Girl says:

    What a contrast between the desert and the sky.
    Thanks for sharing for sky watch friday : )

  13. Carver says:

    That’s a beautiful landscape and sky shot. I always enjoy your interesting posts.

  14. Jacob says:

    I think it might get lonely out there, but the clan is probably near by and if they can get American Idol on their TV sets, they’re probably ecstatic. No?

  15. Geogypsy says:

    Looks like they are keeping up with modernization pretty well. I know how they feel about not living in cities and still liking conviences.

  16. Yoli says:

    Fascinating! I also love the saying Susie! Sounds like my family…LOL.

  17. Louise says:

    Except for the tents,that could be where I live. Desolate beauty.

  18. yogi says:

    Very interesting. You always have the exotic (to an Okie like me anyway.)

  19. sylvia says:

    Always love your posts because they show and tell so much of a culture very different from ours here in the states and I believe it is that kind of information shared that helps us to a better understanding, something our world needs a lot more of! Thank you!

  20. You always give us something exotic. This photo makes me think of the movie Lawrence of Arabia.

  21. babooshka says:

    Those tents sound plush and such an interesting saying. I never know what to expect when I visit and I was just thinking how harsh that environment must be in the image to live in, heat and sand.

  22. Gill says:

    that is so funny that they have all the modern conveniences in their tents……great shot.

    Gill in Canada

  23. Chris says:

    Interesting picture and text.

  24. ewok1993 says:

    Very interesting motto. Are they a friendly people?

    Happy skywatching. My entry is here: http://calrat.blogspot.com

  25. Susie, very interesting! Thanks for sharing. Great shot.
    Have a great skywatching
    Mary Elizabeth
    Blog.

Leave a Reply

