My World: Caught in the Act! (Parental Advisory)

dscf4592-2-copy
Betcha you’ve never seen anything like THIS before!!! Somebody needs to teach this young whippersnapper some manners! Or at least get him potty trained … This youthful baboon was one of dozens that we saw from our car in the area around Taif. They are Saudi Arabian natives and live in families with one dominant male.
A year ago baboons terrorized the community of Taif due to drought conditions. Lack of water and vegetation caused desperate baboons to attack homes and farms in search of food and water, ransacking homes and cars, causing property damage and injuries to victims, and striking fear in the hearts of the unprotected residents. Saudi Arabia’s strict gun laws prohibit ownership or possession of firearms. The baboons rampaged in bands of up to one hundred and showed a distinct preference for the bright red flesh of the locally grown pomegranates.
I saw many females carrying older babies on their backs and younger babies hanging on to their mama’s fronts. This fella was maybe six feet away and I guess with all the excitement, he just couldn’t control himself. Makes one think twice about sitting on public benches or seating areas!
Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Animals, Nature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to My World: Caught in the Act! (Parental Advisory)

  1. Pingback: MyWorld: Let’s Play “Count the Baboons!” « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  2. Dina says:

    It sounds (and looks) like they own the place. That is a frightening story about the baboon take-over. I’ll never complain again about our (mostly) nocturnal food-seeking jackals in the village.

  3. Oh WHOOPS LOL! I also didn’t know you had babboons!

  4. Arija says:

    That sounds like a very frightening situation to have so many wandering around in marauding bands. Since baboons in groups hunt and kill and eat other monkeys, it must haave been a Hitchcockian situatin.
    A great incontinence picture.

  5. lakshmi says:

    I can imagine them terrorizing an entire colony..lovely pic 🙂

  6. Judy says:

    Drive down the freeway long enough here and you will see human gents doing the same thing at the side of the road so I guess we can’t scold this guy. Funny shot, Susie.

  7. Jerry M says:

    All animals do this (just watch birds) but only primates taking a leak will remind us of ourselves (or if you are female our sons/brothers).

  8. J says:

    Ha, a funny photo – love the look of concentration on his face. Kind of reminds me of how here in China the pavement is a child toilet. *shudder*

  9. Michon says:

    I am an American living in Amman, Jordan. In 07 we spent close to two weeks in Saudi, between Jeddah, Mecca, and Medina. When we were driving back from Medina to Mecca we saw baboons on side the road. I thought I was crazy, I couldn’t believe my eyes, baboons in the middle of the desert.

    The kids and I enjoy looking at your pics, will probably leave this one out, HA.

  10. Rinkly Rimes says:

    A very different view of Saudi Arabia!

  11. Even animals by their instinct know what and how it is to live in a world where “survival of the fetish” applies. Good posting Susie!

  12. Geogypsy says:

    LOL! Even the Saudi baboons are male dominant? What a world you live in.

  13. ewok1993 says:

    I didn’t know they are native to Saudi Arabia too. This is a bit comical. I’m laughing my pants off. Thanks for sharing.

  14. yogi says:

    That is one rude babboon!
    Interesting note on the effect of the drought.
    Thanks.

  15. Bill B. says:

    I think more “talks” between parent and child began at the zoo than any other place.

  16. SandyCarlson says:

    AT first I was so distracted by the hairdo I didn’t notice the faux pas on the wall!

  17. Erin says:

    indeed….he’s not learned his social skills.
    interesting post and obviously the environmental conditions have caused problems for the animals.
    thanks for sharing with us.

  18. Jacob says:

    I think what with all the people, he just got pissed off!

  19. Tranquility says:

    Haha – a good laugh for the day – thanks!

  20. sylvia says:

    Great shot and so funny!! However, rampaging baboons would definitely not be funny! Thanks for a big laugh for the afternoon! Hope all is going well with you!

  21. Carver says:

    Ha, that’s a great shot and too funny. Sounds very frightening if they are rampaging around. I have a friend who lives in the mountains in my state (NC west of me) and they can’t have bird feeders because the bears come and empty out bird feeders and go in the trash. Your problem with the baboons seems similar.

  22. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: That sure makes the term let it all hang out come to fruition.

  23. Hi Mary Elizabeth – You’re welcome – thanks for dropping by.

    Hi Brad – VERY naughty!

    Hi Martha – I got so many great photos/portraits of baboons on this trip. I will post a few more because they turned out so good – probably because I didn’t have to shoot from a moving car!

  24. Martha says:

    Interesting, I didn’s know baboons were native to Saudi Arabia. I did know many primates have bad manners by human standards.

  25. Brad says:

    What a naughty animal.

Leave a Reply

