Blue Men Group

dscf3211-1-copy
Saudi Arabia has its own version of the famous Blue Man Group. They are not musical performers, however, they are hard laborers. There are also Lilac Men, Yellow Men, and Orange Men too. Many of them have matching huge colored garbage cans on wheels that accompany them. Saudi Arabia employs millions of foreign workers for manual labor jobs that no Saudi man would ever consider doing.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Clothing, Culture, Life, Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Blue Men Group

  1. Judy says:

    Love that headline, made me laugh!

  2. sirius says:

    Anytime I have lived in the Middle East I have refused to have a maid. The locals are shocked when I say I raised my own children (meaning no nanny/maid), cleaned my own house and worked full time. One has to be careful though, my own “status” was lowered considerably after these comments! Ive been in Jeddah for a few days now and the workers (yellow) around the compound found out I didn’t want a maid–I’m sure they’re thinking “crazy old American lady!”

  3. Puça says:

    I’ve realised that in Dubai is like that too, some jobs are only held by foreigners. In Spain has been like this too until now. With the massive employment destruction due to crisis you can see again spanish people in jobs natives did not want to do…

    About the comment you left in my blog, hahaha I wish I was!!

    But when I have them I make them last a lot, at least in my blog!

    The thing is that this year, spanish calendar allows us to do a lot of holidays if you plan wisely with advance how to spend your off days

  4. Jacob says:

    I remember the yellow men. You have, I would suggest, a color caste society!

  5. Mel says:

    I know here in Alberta when the economy was booming around 2006, they had a real problem getting people to work in retail and other types of jobs locals didn’t want to do, so they hired a lot of temporary foreign workers to fill these spots…they still have some of them here, but because our economy has gone south a bit, they’re not as prevalent.

  6. babooshka says:

    How fascinating. Even here we have a work permit situation and strangely I could see this colour coding coming into practise.

  7. Geogypsy says:

    You had me fooled with the title. Yet I remember other color grouped men from past posts.

    Thanks for recommending me to Adventurous Women.

    Have a great weekend Susie.

  8. I guess that’s lucky for the Saudi men.

    I think the US and Canada would do the same if they had the money. For sure Canada brings in temporary workers for some jobs such as working in farm fields. And many recent immigrants do work men and women born here don’t want to do.

    The more we think we are different, the more we discover we are a lot the same. 😉

Leave a Reply

