Taif Fruit Stand

dscf4618-1-copy
Taif is an area in Saudi Arabia which is a major agricultural center. Not only are they famous for their beautiful and fragrant pink roses, but Taif also produces an abundance of fruits and vegetables, such as corn, grapes, apples, carrots, radishes, and many others. There are fresh produce stands like this one everywhere. Fruits and vegetables seem to taste especially good here and the prices are very cheap.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Life, Photo and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Taif Fruit Stand

  1. NidalM says:

    I just returned from a trip to Ta’if myself. I stopped by a fruit market, though it wasn’t the one you’ve posted a photo above. This on was on the main highway, right next to the monkeys!

    I’ve put up pictures up here http://nidalm.com/blog/?p=344

    The people in the market are so personable; they loved having their pictures taken and horsed around and gave away free fruits to me as I walked through!

  2. blue says:

    i lived in the states and yes, i prefered veggies and fruits back in saudi…for some reason they tasted as if they we’re diluted in the states, in saudi taste is more intense…could it be the harsh desert and lack of water produces concentrated flavors? i don’t know..just a thought.
    and oh God yes it’s way cheaper than in the states…when i went shopping for the first week in the states i was shocked of the total amount i ended up paying for some fuits and vegetables, it was enough to buy 3-4 times that much produce back in saudi

  3. Glennis says:

    I like buying fruit and vegies from wayside stalls, the produce is nice and fresh and cheapish, and you feel your helping a family.
    I am glad you were able to get out to buy from this market. Are you not usually allowed to get out and buy on your own?

  4. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: What a neats election of produce. I’m going back to my home town so will get to go to a Mid-Eastern resturant while there.

  5. ladyfi says:

    Love the fresh fruit!

  6. Jacob says:

    Sounds wonderful. Would you be allowed to get out of the car and go buy some fruit?

    • Hi Jacob – I got out of the car to take photos while my hubby bought an enormous amount of fruits and veggies. I have practised my Arabic before at the fruit & veg market with my hubby’s encouragement. Women have to eat too!!!

Leave a Reply

