He Went That-a-Way!

dscf3644-1-copy
I saw this guy in the traditional Saudi garb talking to a uniformed security officer in a mall. I just find scenes like this one interesting. Is the traditionally dressed guy a customer? An employee? What is he pointing at?

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Buildings, Culture, Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to He Went That-a-Way!

  1. Helen Abdali Soosan Fagan says:

    There are days I long to wear a chador & not worry about my clothes or hair!

  2. m_m says:

    I like these amazing decorations of the wall!

  3. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: The Saudi garb guy is telling the cop that he just saw a women with a camera go that way.

  4. Jerry M says:

    I am not against modesty per se, but one wonders if one cannot design more practical clothing, at least in Saudi Arabia both sexes are wearing traditional dress.

    I can imagine that if Saudi men and women had to do a lot of physical labor that the traditional forms of dress would be done away with in a generation. Can you spread asphalt easily in a thobe? Can you paint a house in a thobe? Can women iron clothes and not sweat like crazy?

    • Hi Jerry – Saudi men and women do not really do a lot of physical labor, and if they did, I’m sure they would wear different attire than the traditional clothing we are familiar with. Most working professional Saudi men do wear the traditional thobe and headscarf for their jobs. Laborers here are almost assuredly not Saudi and many of them wear more of a traditional Pakistani outfit consisting of loose fitting long pants and a long shirt that extends to the knees. These come in a wide array of matching colors, like tan, blue, and brown. I’ve seen construction guys, painters, and other hard laborers wearing this clothing for work, but again, they are not Saudi.
      Saudi women don’t wear the abayas inside the house, and all the Saudi women I know have maids to do the ironing and other housework.

    • aziz says:

      Hi Jerry,

      Can you spread asphalt in a suite? can you paint a house is a suite?

  5. Dina says:

    Ahh, the intrigue!
    The “balatot” of my floor should look so clean and shiny!

  6. Geogypsy says:

    I always like the candid shots.

  7. Jerry M says:

    A nice shot of that mall you showed us earlier.

    I always wonder how one can be comfortable with traditional clothing? What does one do on a windy day (I have seen women trying to keep their skirts under control on a windy day an this like it is harder to control). I know it is supposed to be designed for the climate but I cannot imagine it working well in bad weather.

    • I wonder the same thing too, Jerry, but I guess it’s just what they are used to wearing, so they are comfortable in it. The worst part for me about the wind is that it blows the scarf on my head loose. But even without wind, women here are constantly readjusting their headscarves every few minutes – something that drives me absolutely crazy. It’s so annoying to have to be constantly rewinding the scarf around my head.

  8. Jacob says:

    Probably undercover CIA.

  9. Brad says:

    more shots of that fantastic mall

Leave a Reply

