Old Town Dwelling

dscf3838-1-copy
Al-Balad is the oldest district of Jeddah. This is where tourists come to see the architecture of the old historical buildings and walk around the city’s colorful souks where they can buy everything from incense to handmade leather sandals to fine gold jewelry. This building must have been quite beautiful in its day. The fact that people still reside in these old buildings is what really astonishes me though. Notice the lock hanging on the door and the electric box in plain view next to the door with the wire running into the inside.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Life, Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Old Town Dwelling

  1. Pingback: Al-Balad Shopping District « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  2. Maria says:

    Life must be an adventure there 😦
    Colourful, beautiful, romantic! For the tourist’s eye.

  3. Fun to see your Saudi pictures. I’ve been fascinated by Saudi Arabia for some time but it seems unlikely that I get there any time soon for a visit. However, I was just in Bangalore, India for 4 weeks in Feb/March. Regards from Minnesota, USA.

  4. babooshka says:

    I just love decaying beauty in buildings. We would just knock this down here whcih would be such a waste.

  5. Judy says:

    I like this shot a lot. The building is so exotic looking to me. I’m enjoying your pictures so much and I do look every day even though I don’t always comment.

  6. Mel says:

    I read that these buildings are made of coral (not the most durable of building materials!). They look like they’re leaning a fair bit, I’d be scared to set even a foot in one these buildings, although they look pretty cool!

    PS – I read about the coral building materials at wikitravel – http://wikitravel.org/en/Jeddah

  7. Puça says:

    Nice colours,restored should be amazing!

  8. Bill B. says:

    Obviously no code compliance here. Our building department would have a fit looking at this.

  9. Jacob says:

    Another absolutely fascinating taste of Saudi life…are tourists supposed to adhere to the same kind of rules regarding the sexes?

  10. Jerry M says:

    I cannot imagine the inside is any better than the outside. It should be condemned.

  11. Marahm says:

    What a great photo of an interesting building!I wonder what the inside looks like. On second thought, maybe I don’t want to know.

    The image recalls days of old, to be sure, with a certain romantic curiosity about how life might have been lived then. To know, however, that people still live there today bothers me.

    I once saw the inside of a similar building, and I was disgusted by the facilities, the way the people lived. You can imagine.

  12. tapirgal says:

    That is so interesting – what a wonderful sight with the unusual mix of colors and the exotic shapes.

  13. Susie, this building is just amazing. I would love to walk these streets and photograph all those interesting details.

Leave a Reply

