My World: Roasted Corn Vendor

DSCF4803 1 copy
In the mountains of Taif, Saudi Arabia, we stopped at this Egyptian man’s road side stand, where he sold fresh fruits and vegetables, and freshly roasted corn. He had quite a fire going on his makeshift roaster. Some of the kernels were blackened and it tasted much like popcorn but with a totally different texture, of course. It was good, but I think I would have liked it a little bit better with a sprinkle of salt and maybe even some melted butter on it! Each ear of roasted corn cost 2 riyals, which is about 50 cents US. Once we were all served and chomping away, the vendor relaxed and enjoyed a cigarette.
DSCF4811 1 copy
Well, That’s My World for this week!
That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Hospitality, Life, Middle East, Nature, Photo and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My World: Roasted Corn Vendor

  1. Glennis says:

    I bet these tasted delicious dripping with melted butter. Yum

  2. chrome3d says:

    I don´t care about salt that much, so that corn would have been just cool to me. He doesn´t want to share that smoke with you. He just looks that way!

  3. Arija says:

    I always travel with my own salt, maybe you should too. Nice shots for your post.

  4. ladyfi says:

    That first photo is amazing – the flames look as if they have a life of their own!

  5. Dina says:

    Right on the fire, eh? Do they serve the corn right on a husk “plate”?
    I remember the old days here when summer meant a big metal barrel of boiling water filled with ears of corn being sold on the street corner.
    This man has a nice smile.

  6. ewok1993 says:

    That’s very nice. I love street vendors and I love roasted corn too. That’s not a bad deal, 50 cents for an ear. That would fill you up easy.

  7. Toni says:

    Thank you for the beautiful pictures. My daughter returns from Jeddah on Wednesday and this gives me some idea of the things she will be describing and reliving with me! God Bless.

  8. Mirchee says:

    Susie, I love roasted corn! I’m half French and half Indian. We usually put lemon juice, salt and a little red chilli powder. yum yum
    Délicieux !

  9. SIXSTARS NZ says:

    Nice photos. It seems funny to see someone just getting by in a country with so much of the worlds money.

  10. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: That was nice to get the vendors photo. Nice of you to share this part of your world.

  11. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: That was nice to get the vendors photo. Nice of you to share thispart of your world.

  12. Carver says:

    Yum, roasted corn. That is a favorite of mine. Great shots from your part of the world.

  13. Jacob says:

    This gentleman looks like he enjoys what he’s doing; if he doesn’t burn down the place!

    Can’t imagine roasted corn without salt and butter…

  14. Gaelyn says:

    I love corn roasted that way, yet agree with salt and butter.

    Sorry you didn’t have your Dad with you longer. I’ll bet a lot those young enlistees for WWII looked alike in uniform. I’m going to print a copy to mail my Dad, who doesn’t do computers.

    Nice capture. The man has a very happy face.

  15. kbguy says:

    We have lots of corn in my country too. But Jeddah looks like an interesting place to visit.. from your photo. Is it hot ?

    • Jeddah is quite hot in the summertime, and for women, it’s even hotter because we must wear long black cloaks and cover our hair and necks as well. Taif, where this photo was taken, is in the mountains and is considered a summer retreat for many people in Saudi Arabia, since its temperatures are considerably cooler than most other places.

  16. Great post,neat photos, Susie, as always! Have to admit, I too like my corn with a little butter and salt. Have a great week!

  17. marja says:

    Oh what a marvellous pictures I love corn like you with some butter

  18. James says:

    I bet you’re right about the butter and salt. Great pictures by the way.

  19. Guy D says:

    I love corn on the cob on the BBQ, so that must be just as good. Great post.

    Have a great week.
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

Leave a Reply

