SkyWatch: First Quarter Moon

100_2413 1 copy
I love photos taken at this time of the evening, when there is still a bit of light and the sky almost seems to be lit up in various colors. I have always been intrigued by the moon and its phases and I always look at the moon whenever I am outdoors in the evenings. I am no expert, but this looks most like a First Quarter Moon to me. The Islamic calendar is based solely on the phases of the moon, and therefore each Islamic year is almost two weeks shorter than the calendar used in the US. (Technically this makes my husband a few years older than I am even though, according to the US calendar, we were born in the same year!)
The phases of the moon play a very important part during the month of Ramadan. This holy month, when all Muslims around the world fast during the daylight hours, begins with a new moon and ends with the sighting of the next new moon. Ramadan is expected to start this year on August 21 and last until September 18. It should be nice and hot here then, and much of normal daytime activites just shut down during that time, since people cannot eat or drink anything at all during the day.
To fly MORE friendly skies around the world, visit SKYWATCH.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Life, Middle East, Nature, Religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to SkyWatch: First Quarter Moon

  1. Caprice says:

    What a wonderful phot. Nice catch. I noticed teh new moon out my window last night among the many stars and it was very pretty. Thanks for sharing your lovely moon and the info on Ramadan.
    Caprice

  2. david says:

    Great photo, Susie.

    However, I believe you mean the Julian calendar not the US calendar. the Julian calendar is used universally not just in America.

  3. Carver says:

    I love the shot of the moon and an interesting post.

  4. Yogi says:

    Great picture of a peaceful moon and interesting cultural lesson. Thanks again!

  5. People have been planting crops and harvesting the crops by the phases of the moon. The moon results in high tides and low tides. And I’ve heard a full moom brings out the crazy folks and wild and loud activily. So your photo is of a quiet peaceful night.

  6. hip chick says:

    Very pretty photo.

  7. babooshka says:

    That could be the back of my house from the nature reserve. Gorgeous deep purple. Again learning so much from you and your area.

  8. Anne says:

    Pictures of the moon is alway very beautiful!!

    Hugs from Anne in Norway

  9. Dina says:

    A lovely, dreamy picture.
    Yes, it must be a new moon because here we started a new month a few days ago.
    Thanks for the probable Ramadan date for my calendar.

  10. Lara says:

    moon has always played an important role in humans’ lives! the photo is superb!

  11. Suzanne says:

    Great photo Susie, hope you have a good week and Happy SWF.

  12. Gaelyn says:

    Love your quarter moon Susie. I understand fasting, but if it’s extrememly hot isn’t it important to at least drink water? I suppose after dark it’s time to gorge. Will you practice this?

    • I did fast last year and I did pretty well with it, surprisingly. What happens with many people here is that they reverse their days and nights, going to sleep after the early morning prayer and sleeping away much of the day, so the hunger and thirst doesn’t affect them so much. The fast is broken at sundown – a time when many families get together to eat. Many have another meal at around midnight, and possibly again before sunrise, when they must abstain from food and drink once again until sundown. There are some laborers out in the heat of the day and I really don’t know how they do it. I went out one day to a bazaar at 11am during Ramadan and I almost passed out. One can get dehydrated very quickly.

  13. Pingback: Skywatch « Authentically Unique

  14. Darcel says:

    Beautiful Sky. I love the moon way up in the sky. It looks like the ying/yang symbol.
    My girls are going to love this picture.

  15. Erin says:

    a lovely capture. doesn’t that make you feel great now that he is technically “older”…

  16. SandyCarlson says:

    This is a wonderful, magical view.

  17. ewok1993 says:

    Interesting post, fantastic photo and fascinating tid bits of information.

    I have my skywatch entry here: http://calrat.blogspot.com

  18. janice says:

    WOW, what an awesome picture, Susie!

  19. I got a shot of that same quarter moon here! I caught it a little too late though, but yours is perfect! Always enjoy your posts, Susie, beautiful and informative! Have a great weekend!

    Oh, better that your husband ends up two years older rather than you!

  20. Guy D says:

    Very nice photo, looks so peaceful.

    Have a great weekend
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

Leave a Reply

