My World: Danger on the Road

DSCF6143 copy
First of all, sorry for the poor quality of the photo, but in all this time of trying to capture a scene such as this, this is actually the best I have been able to catch in fast moving traffic and nighttime conditions. So let me point out what this image contains and hopefully you’ll be able to make it out for yourself. It’s a red car in heavy traffic in the lane next to us. The driver is a Saudi man wearing the red and white checked scarf on his head, held in place by the black cording. And sitting on the driver’s lap while he’s driving is a small child of no more than two or three. This is not an unusual sight here in Saudi Arabia, by any means. It is all too common. I hate to use the word never, but I have never seen a Saudi child buckled up here or in a car seat since I’ve been here. I have seen plenty of children hanging out the windows, or bouncing about the inside of the car, or sitting on the laps of their fathers or mothers in the front seat (mom and dad are never buckled up either), or standing up in the front seat with their little heads inches from the windshield. To read more about this dangerous phenomenon here in Saudi Arabia, I direct you to
American Bedu’s recent post called The Saudi Airbag.
Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Culture, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to My World: Danger on the Road

  1. Pingback: Baby on Board « JEDDAH DAILY PHOTO JOURNAL

  2. JetSetMom.Cece says:

    Aside from the obvious danger to this child!

    From an artistic/photographic point of view…I see many guardian angels around the car, while managing to disguise the father and child’s actual faces.

    Susie, you are a master photographer! šŸ™‚

  3. hip chick says:

    Oh my that is scary.

  4. babooshka says:

    This does make me mad. No regard for life people who do this.Considering the circumstances you have so capture images under you of all people should never apologise, unlike the errant driver.

  5. Dina says:

    Such strict laws for other things but not for this?
    Well, maybe he is teaching the kid to drive …

  6. Jilly says:

    You can see this all too clearly. So wrong and so sad and goodness how dangerous.

  7. Gaelyn says:

    Whoa, there must be a lot of death when an accident occurs. I’ll check out the link.

  8. janice says:

    Oh my goodness, Susie! You know how fast they’d be stopped and ticket here in the U.S. This is on some level of child abuse in my book.

  9. Martha says:

    Scary and sad. How often are children killed or injured? I see, Yogi already addressed that. I’ll check it out.

  10. marja says:

    Yes that is surely scary. It is probably more difficult to raise awareness about this kind of thing here as other things are more important

  11. SandyCarlson says:

    My hair jumped off my head when I read that there was a kid in the driver’s seat with daddy-o. Wow. Scary. But I like the photo. It captures the intensity and a sense of “Oh, no!”

  12. Chuch Bells says:

    Do you know american bedu well?

    • We have never met in person, but we have talked on the phone and we exchange emails. She has been very helpful to me and is very knowledgeable about life here. Bedu was responsible for introducing me to some other ex-pat wives here a few months after I arrived, and I will be forever grateful to her for that.

  13. koala says:

    It’s said that the driver is responsible and therefore has the right to make all choices in the car. Maybe if they allowed woman to drive they would care more about their children.

  14. Erin says:

    when i was a little one, a toddler perhaps, my father had me on his lap. he got pulled over and needless to say that was the last time i rode there.
    have a great week.

  15. Brad says:

    Becareful crossing the street

  16. Carver says:

    That is really scary. I worry so much when I see anyone not buckled in but especially children.

  17. James says:

    Time for a media blitz on seatbelt safety. Somebody get Al Jazeera on the phone. What a shame.

  18. Yogi says:

    I wonder what the relative fatality rates are between the USA and Saudi Arabia. I’m convinced that seat belts and child seats save lives.

  19. I know it does happen, but it is scary just to think what could happen. Like Guy, I hope someday seat belts will be required everywhere!

    Have a great week!

  20. ewok1993 says:

    When will people realize that driving with child on one’s lap is not safe?

    Enjoy the week.

  21. Guy D says:

    Seat belts save lives, everyone should wear one. Hopefully one day soon it will be law all over the world.

    Have a great week
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

Leave a Reply

