Out for a Walk

DSCF5539 1
You don’t see many women out walking here in Jeddah, especially in the hotter summer months. For me it’s just too hot and stifling in the black abaya and head covering. I don’t know how the women do it with their faces covered in the veils though – I find it very difficult to breathe. I just liked this photo with the graffitied wall behind her and her shadow.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Clothing, Culture, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Out for a Walk

  1. Hamdah says:

    You know.. I am used to wearing Abaya, head cover and niqab and go for a walk ! We are used to it and we wear Hijab for a purpose “to obey our God”, so I do not care of what others may think of me !

  2. Fatimah says:

    I am a Saudi woman who grew up in the states. I find it very weird that you didn’t depict the women who don’t cover their faces or who are more inclined to dress differently than your pictures show. It is very funny to read all the comments here. Makes us Saudi women feel we have the power to intrigue and mystify you.

    • Hi Fatimah – I think that you are right about how Saudi women do intrigue and mystify others. Maybe you would like to pose for some photos for me since I cannot even get my own women relatives in Jeddah to let me take photos of them. I am more inclined to take discreet photos of women who are completely covered (where it would be difficult to know their identity) rather than trying to take photos of women in public without their permission especially if they don’t have their faces covered. You may think it’s wierd, but have you tried taking photos of uncovered women in public or in private in KSA? Maybe I’m just hanging with the wrong crowd! Also your upbringing in the states may have influenced your attitudes about having your photo taken – the women I have encountered in KSA have a real aversion to it.

  3. babooshka says:

    This is an excellent capture everything about it.

  4. Gaelyn says:

    This is an excellent capture Susie. Though the figure barely looks human let alone female. Guess that’s the point. How hot and miserable. I agree with Bill B about Cousin It.

    Thinking about you in AZ.

  5. Bill B says:

    I don’t know if you remember the TV show The Adams Family. This photo reminds me of Cousin It. I must have been out in the heat too long.

  6. Amira says:

    Hi , i live in Brazil and soon i will move to Jeddah to marry with a pakistani boy that is working there , i am happy to know that have your blog for me get all information that i will need , i u could plz be in contact with me , so u can give me good ideias , Tks

  7. Yoli says:

    It must be very difficult to go out in the heat and wearing black and covered completely. Great photo!

  8. Sarah says:

    I agree with you!
    During my 3 trips to Saudi Arabia, I found out Arab women are too much hermit!
    I never appreciate this kind of wearing as I have experienced it once there!

    Greetings from Mashhad- Iran

  9. janice says:

    Excellent shot, Susie. Like Jacob said, a terrific slice-of-life….

    I guess graffiti is universal.

  10. BPOTW says:

    That is quite an impressive photo. Very interesting, indeed!

  11. Dina says:

    Yes, it is a great photograph. But sad to think of being stifled, literally.

  12. JM says:

    Great capture!

    Susie, a CDP blogger is missing! Please visit my page. Thank you.

  13. Jacob says:

    Another terrific slice-of-life…is she wearing tennis shoes?

    Perhaps she has to have something on that’s comfortable!

  14. Jerry M says:

    Oh I’m in love a flashy tan purse and sneakers 😉

    (Just imagining the interior dialog of a young Saudi man)

Leave a Reply

