MyWorld: Water Park

DSCF6012 4
This is part of a water park for kids that is visible above the high wall from the outside on Sultan Street. Women and teenaged girls are of course not allowed to swim, but children and teenaged boys can swim and have fun in the sun and water. The water park is attached to a plaza that offers shopping, a restaurant, arts and crafts, and more entertainment for kids. Mothers can watch from an elevated position behind air conditioned glass windows inside the plaza.
Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Life, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to MyWorld: Water Park

  1. Muhammad Tahir says:

    This weekend I tried “Jungle Land” with kids and it was fun there 🙂
    Jungle Land is located in “Qaria Mirsal”.
    It is around at this point B on the following map:
    https://maps.google.com/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=213179804356299368639.00049c511e073c1946dce&dg=feature&safe=on

    Sorry I was unable to locate the exact place.

  2. Tahir says:

    Timings: 4:30 PM onward (Final entry in the park at 9:00 PM), Open until midnight
    Cost: 100 SR per child (i guess: age 3 and above) and 20 SR per accompanying person (mother, father etc.)
    I wanted to know the timings and cost online but no official website exist for this park which is pathetic! I wasted my time in going there with my son and we reached there at around 9:10 PM and already the door was closed. Worst experience because of the lack of online information. Looks like there is NO management and communication at all about this theme park!!

  3. Muhammad says:

    Jedaah IS NOT GOOD ! I live in jeddah..jeddah does not ANY water park, NO Cinema hall..NO..tRains ! No parks for boys over 13..( if a boy reaches 13 they will allow him go ride on slides and huts and not allow him to enjoy rides ion parkS ! PITY ON JEDDAH ! Jeddah is very dirty nowdays..The inner areas are populated with dirty people..The roads are not well constructed ..PITY ON JEDDAH

    • Muhammad – I went through a period of time where I was quite negative about being here. There are things to do here – you just need to find friends to do stuff with. Yes, Jeddah is filthy and yes Jeddah has experienced terrible growing pains. Try to focus on the good things there are here. That’s what I have done and it has helped.

    • ryhan says:

      yes there a water park i go in that waterpark in jeddah

  4. Rima says:

    What is the name of this park?

  5. Naomi Thompson says:

    Hi, I was just wondering the cost of this park. I heard that it was free and part of the attraction to the stationary store but I just wanted to make sure from someone that has actually been there.
    Thanks so much

    • Sorry, Naomi – I really don’t know. I’ve been to the stationary store, but I don’t have small kids so I didn’t find out about the cost of the water park.

  6. janice says:

    It looks like it would be so much fun, and so sad at that same time. Like hold candy in front of a diabetic.

  7. Mel says:

    This would drive me crazy. I am a sucker for waterslides, and the thought of not being able to use them simply because I am the wrong gender would be very depressing, indeed!

  8. This mother might not ever let her children go if she could not enjoy it as well! Maybe I would, but it would be so hard to watch all the fun and wet and be sitting there all wrapped up. Maybe they’re used to it.

  9. Erin says:

    golly gee…now did i even think you all would be able to enjoy the summer fun…
    great shot though.

    take care.

  10. Arija says:

    Women and girls have to just swelter???

  11. ladyfi says:

    Poor girls! But it looks fun for those who are allowed.

  12. Great, interesting shot as always! Do feel like the others though that while the park looks familiar, the idea of women not being able to participate is little hard to accept and I, too, find it difficult to comprehend the lack of freedom for women there.

  13. Very interesting- a waterpark only for young children and teenaged boys! It’s hard to comprehend the lack of freedom women in Saudi Arabia have. Thanks for this post.

  14. So familiar– the waterpark; yet, so foreign– not for women.

    Can’t they have a day for ladies only?

  15. Hi Suzie. Thanks for another glimpse into the Arab world. So very different. The West experience some of this like a hundred years ago. Reading a good book that deals with women’s issues right now. It is
    LOVING FRANK, by Nancy Horan and it a novel about one of the mistress’s of Frank Lloyd Wright, the American architect. I think you would like it.

  16. babooshka says:

    This must be so hard not being able to participate. I can not imagine watching from the sidelines. You took me by surprise again showing something so familiar.

  17. Gaelyn says:

    Looks like fun, but I’d be upset not to be able to play too.

Leave a Reply

