Mosaic Tiled Gas Station

DSCF7241 1
Many buildings and sidewalks here in Saudi Arabia are completely covered in tiles. Due to the harsh climate, I suppose tile is much more durable than many surfaces. This photo shows just part of the ground surface of a gas station which has been completely covered in mosaic tiles. It’s quite attractive as you can see. I wonder how long it took to complete!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Life, Middle East, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mosaic Tiled Gas Station

  1. J Bar says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen such an elaborate petrol station before.
    Sydney – City and Suburbs

  2. Jerry M says:

    I would guess that a light colored driveway is a lot more comfortable that a black tar and gravel driveway. So, good for them!

  3. Judy says:

    Wow! That is a beautiful gas station. None like that around here.

  4. Chiara says:

    I’m sure if all gas stations looked like this, or the ones on the Riviera I would like them more. Snow and ice, and the salt to melt them really wreck gas station architecture and design!

    Great photo!

  5. Geogypsy says:

    That’s one fancy looking driveway. And it looks so clean. Excellent capture.

  6. Bill B says:

    This, of course, begs the question, how expensive is petrol in The Kingdom?

    • Grami says:

      Oh, very cheap … I mean like really really cheap especially when you live in, say, the UK

      Here in the UK a litre costs around 1.20 quid which – roghly speaking – equalls 10 SR per litre

      In saudi arabia it costs 65 halals (1 sr=100 halals) so you work that out

    • Grami gave you an idea – I don’t ever pay here, but next time I’ll pay attention. All I know is my hubby can fill up his SUV when it’s almost empty for less than 40 riyals, which is under $10 US. Much cheaper than in the states, that’s for sure.

  7. That’s definitely the fanciest gas station area I’ve ever seen! Like a work of art!

Leave a Reply

