SkyWatch: New Construction Everywhere

DSCF0651 1
Jeddah continues to boom with new construction projects. The economy here has not suffered as badly as many areas of the world, like Dubai, for example. I recently read that some 80% of Dubai’s new construction has come to a screeching halt, compared to only 20% of planned construction projects in Saudi Arabia. Seemingly the larger ostentatious projects here have been put on hold, but smaller individual projects, like these apartment buildings shown in the photo, continue to spring up everywhere. Most of these types of buildings are built of brick which is then finished completely in tile, marble, or stone. Since paint doesn’t fare well in the harsh climate of Saudi Arabia, not too many building are finished off in stucco and then painted. (Click on image to view enlargement in greater detail.)
To fly MORE friendly skies around the world, visit SKYWATCH.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Buildings, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to SkyWatch: New Construction Everywhere

  1. SandyCarlson says:

    I guess things have been scaled down everywhere. That’s extraordinary. It will be interesting to see these buildings when they are done.

  2. Will says:

    Interesting photos and commentary as well. Can’t say that I envy you living in a place that gets as hot as it does over there, but it would be an interesting place to visit.

  3. Puça says:

    Like the building..the only thing is that I love big windows, almost as crystal walls, and balcony, and it seems windows are very small… Are balconies used in ksa?

    • I love big windows too, and most residential buildings here do NOT have them, mostly for privacy I would imagine. But then again most of the windows have a metallic reflective finish so other people cannot see in. It may be to keep the heat out, I don’t know. There are balconies in some villas and apartment buildings – I have never seen anyone using them though.

      • Chiara says:

        It sounds as if the climate dictates the window usage (traditional homes in hot countries don’t usually have large windows), and balcony use. The traditional Arab style home with the inner courtyard and inner balconies is the most climate adapted in my experience in Al-Andalus and Al-Maghreb (lol 🙂 ). On my list of houses to buy in various countries! LOL 🙂

      • I grew up in Arizona and lived in Florida for many years, and the natives there are quite fond of large picture windows. Many homes also have tinted windows and air conditioning, just like here in KSA, and the homes manage to stay as cool as one wants them. So I tend to think that the preference for smaller windows here is really a privacy thing.

      • Chiara says:

        It may well be both, as may be the wall facing the street and the inner courtyard structure. I was thinking of traditional African and Arab architecture which lack large window spaces. Macharabiya is a beautiful Arab privacy strategy. I’m in favour of big windows, skylights, and openness myself, so would use the lace curtain/ shutters/ macharabiya combo over tinted windows. Wrap around verandas in the southern US are great too!

      • Puça says:

        As the privacy issue is solved by the reflective finish heat might be the answer. But if i could choose how to finish my house…not always possible for the majority of us … I would make huge windows even if I’ve to put a reflective finish :o)

        Thanks for the answers!

  4. Tara R. says:

    A striking blue background for the red brick construction.

  5. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: Nice capture of the building going into the sky.

  6. Bill B says:

    I never understood the economics of the Dubai project. It seemed doomed to failure to me.

  7. Linnea says:

    That’s interesting about the choice of material for the exteriors of the buildings. Glad your economy isn’t in the tank like it is here! Nice skywatch addition…

  8. Geogypsy says:

    Brick and stone would be more durable, and a good insulator also. Hope people can afford to move in when they’re finished.

  9. James says:

    The constructin looks nice against the clouds and blue sky. I wonder what it will look like when it’s finished?

  10. Wow! Incredible to see so much being built in Saudi Arabia. Does this type of structure, brick?, do well in the heat?

    Mrs. GDP

  11. Dimple says:

    I really appreciate seeing different places through the eyes of people who live in them. Very interesting photo and explanation.

  12. Chiara says:

    Dubai seemed like a luxury building bubble ready to burst–I guess it did. I’m sorry for all those living there and caught in the crunch.

    I hope you will be able to post an “after” photo! I’m sure these plain buildings in progress will be transformed!

  13. Louise says:

    It would seem natural, I suppose, that a place like Dubai would suffer more. I like the idea of finishing the buildings in tile,marble and stone.

  14. ewok1993 says:

    Construction in the middle east means more work for overseas workers.

    I love that mosaic tiled gas station. What a treat that must be.

    I posted here: http://www.calrat.blogspot.com

  15. Hi Susie! Good to see you back online! Glad you had a safe trip back to Jeddah! Maybe we can talk when you come back to the NW! Great skies, beautiful clouds! And I always enjoy reading about your city!

    Have a great weekend!

    Sylvia

Leave a Reply

