MyWorld: Road Construction

DSCF7234 1
There is a huge construction project in full swing in Jeddah on several of the major thoroughfares leading to the Jeddah Airport. Due to unprecedented growth and increased traffic congestion, these roadways are being revised to include overpasses at major crossings that intersect with the main roads that feed into the airport. Construction has been going on for several years and will likely take several more years to complete. In the meantime, traffic here is horribly congested, there are many detours, and just going out sometimes is a nightmare.
Well, That’s My World for this week! That’s My World! offers a unique glimpse at life all over our planet. Take a peek at other people’s lives from all over the world by visiting That’s My World!

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Architecture, Saudi Arabia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to MyWorld: Road Construction

  1. The construction delays are a pain, but it’s great when there are more access routes to places!

  2. I’ve been reading a lot lately in the states about women wanting to drive cars but not being allowed. What do you do?

    • Women are forced to rely on men to drive them places here in Saudi Arabia. This can either be the woman’s husband or father, or many families hire full time foreign drivers for a contracted period of time if they can afford it. Usually this involves providing housing, all meals, and other expenses such as airline tickets and paying for the official work documents and visa. Other women must rely on paying for taxi cabs, which puts them in the situation of being in a car with a man not related to them, which is actually forbidden here. Other public transportation such as busses are not available for women to use.
      My own situation depends on my husband driving me places. Since he hates to drive, I end up spending a lot of boring days at home. When I tutor, the family sends one of their drivers for me. I also have a couple of friends who have drivers who will send them to pick me up at times as well. My husband does not want me to take taxis, so my options and my freedom of movement is severely limited. This is probably one of my biggest challenges and sore points in trying to adapt to life here.

      • Chiara says:

        Wow Suzie! that explains better your restrictions in living in Saudi. Any room for negotiation “intrafamilially” on hiring a driver, or using a reliable same always taxi service/driver with regular driving appointments, or sharing a driver’s time with another family?

      • Actually my hubby and his brother have been looking into getting a driver that our families would share. I’m keeping my fingers crossed because it would make a huge difference in my son’s and my life here.

      • Chiara says:

        A great idea! I hope it works out. A number of expat families would share a maid in Hong Kong because they didn’t need full time hours. The maid would live with one family but do hours at the other’s place or others’ places too, and it saved the person with the original contract the money for those outside hours.

  3. ladyfi says:

    Good photo. It’s always a drag when roads and bridges need to be re-done.

  4. Geogypsy says:

    This should be a time when you’re glad you can’t drive. Just bring a good book and enjoy.

  5. SandyCarlson says:

    Let’s hope they finish on time and the congestion goes away!

  6. ewok1993 says:

    It’s always difficult during construction time, but think of the benefits later on.

    Enjoy the new week.

  7. Mo says:

    We have major road works here too. Replacing things built in Victorian times. Makes life just that little bit more difficult for locals.

Leave a Reply

