SkyWatch: SunDown

DSCF7328 1
I’m not often out at this time of the day, and as many of you know, many of my shots must be taken from a speeding car, as this shot was. I wish I had a better landscape than some old chemical plant looking place, but I’ve gotta take what I can get! Despite all the adversity, I think there’s still something magical and awesome about the sun which hangs so low in the sky in this photo.
To fly MORE friendly skies around the world, visit SKYWATCH.

About SusieOfArabia

American woman now living in hubby's homeland of Saudi Arabia
This entry was posted in Desert, Nature, Photo, Saudi Arabia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to SkyWatch: SunDown

  1. Chiara says:

    Actually the grey of the buildings sets off the sun, and the sky very nicely. Thanks for ask, Leif, and Susie thanks for the explanation, I was just starting to wonder myself. I’m sure you don’t want to go on a photography walk about either, in the heat and the black abaya. In my experience most husbands make bad chauffeurs–too many ideas about when one should go where, and by what route, when and where to stop, and for how long. How long until Adam can get a licence? Most teens are enthralled enough with driving that they will be happy chauffeurs.

  2. Judy says:

    Magical is the right word, Susie!

  3. Fishing Guy says:

    Susie: I agree with seeing the sun set is a special time. Thanks for the shot over the refinery.

  4. Gennasus says:

    The lovely sky and big, gorgeous sun make up for those buildings.

    I can understand how frustrating it must be for a keen photographer in Saudi. Keep at it!

  5. J says:

    Perhaps a reminder that sometimes even the ugly can become beautiful!

  6. Guy D says:

    Excellent shot Susie, your blog never disappoints.

    Have a great weekend
    Guy
    Regina In Pictures

  7. Christina says:

    So many interesting blogs one gets accuainted with through Skywatch Friday. I will definitely follow yours! Very interesting to see your side of this interesting a nd different country

    /Christina, Sweden

  8. Sorry for the silly question but why must so many photos be taken from a “speeding car?”

    • It’s not really a silly question, Leif. There are many reasons actually. First of all, photography out in public is discouraged and frowned upon by many of the residents here in Saudi Arabia. Secondly, I am not able to drive myself around and take photos whenever I want to since women cannot drive here. My driver is my husband and he HATES to drive here, not that I blame him because the traffic is horrendous. Plus it seems that whenever we are out, we are always in a big rush to get whatever we need to get done before the next prayer time, when everything closes down and my husband is rushing to get back home to pray. I rarely get an opportunity to set up a shot because we are always in a hurry. There have been two times that I can recall when my husband has actually taken me out to take photographs in the two years I have been here. And even then, it is difficult trying to pull the car over to let me take my shots. I take my camera with me every time I leave the house in hopes that I will be able to get some decent shots. For every decent one I get, there are at least twenty that are just blurs!!! I hope this all makes sense and explains my predicament somewhat.

  9. You have a great way of seizing the moment to take great photos!

  10. Geogypsy says:

    It’s a beautiful pastel sky.

  11. ewok1993 says:

    Hey, you shoot what you get. The sunset is what counts. Most of my shots are from a moving vehicle too.

    I posted mine over at http://calrat.blogspot.com

  12. At first (very quick) glance, I thought the chemical plant was a castle of some kind. The sun is spectacular and takes the eyes away from the building anyway. Definitely worth showing us!

  13. The low hanging sun IS awesome and magical regardless of the speed of the vehicle or the landscape. Marvelous shot!

    Have a great weekend!

    Sylvia

  14. Dimple says:

    I am fascinated by your pictures. It is the only non-news glimpse I get of your part of the world. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

